Knowing and Realizing The Truth About Drugs and Other Addictions

Posted: September 25, 2011 in Religion
Tags: , , , ,

Recently, for some reason I had begun out of the blue thinking about drugs again.  I’m not even sure why it came up again it may be just another feeble  attempt of the enemy to try to kill me or more than likely it was just the old man “my flesh” rising up again needing to once again be put in it’s place. 

Either way, as I pondered why I was even thinking in those terms again, it gave me time to contemplate  what was going on and as God’s word says it gave me time to “work out my own salvation through fear and trembling”  (Philippians 2: 12-16). 

 On top of the thoughts that were going through my mind, I had even started having dreams about smoking my former drug of choice known by
the names; Mary
Jane, the 4:20 smoke break, grass, weed and many other names (okay, marijuana for those of you who don’t know what I’m referring to yet).

 I would dream about going to my old haunts to buy the drugs, dream about the effects that it had on me etc., but then I would realize and remeber that  I’ve prayed and asked God to always protect me and show me when I’m going down a road (even mentally or in my thought or dream life) that could distract me from the  path that He has for my life and I would pray, repent, and move on if what I was going through was indeed a moment of weakness.

Thankfully God has always been faithful to show me during my dreams weak points in the areas of my spiritual armor that need shoring up.  Further, God used the very thoughts and dreams that were trying to turn me back to a besetting sin against that sin itself by eventually using the temptation to reveal the tricks and deception that the enemy was trying to use on me.

You see, God didn’t thunder down from high and command me to not think about or dream about the drugs anymore because He gave me something called free will and wants me to use it when choosing between the things of this world or Him. God just simply showed me the truth. 

During these dreams God allowed me to see both sides of the debate and simply gave me the oportunity to choose whom I would follow either Him, my flesh, or the enemy.  “As for me and my house, I will serve the Lord” (Joshua 24:15). 

The trick of my flesh or the enemy was that  I was missing something by not resuming my drug use.  The devil kept reminding me of the exhilaration that I once had in buying and using drugs, the thrill of getting high, the numbing of the pain of past hurts, and the lack of anxiety that I usd to feel when “doped up”.  

Once the devil and/or my flesh had their turn God in the dreams would present His case to me. God then took His turn to reveal the truth in the matter and as it is written in His word in John 8:32; “the truth will set you free indeed” and once God showed me why I was going through this I was was in fact, free indeed. 

 While the devil and/or my flesh would try to romanticize my former
drug use
Jesus would show me the truth through the dreams by showing me
that along with
the “high” that I used to love came paranoia, fear of being
arrested and losing
everything that He’s blessed me with, losing the respect of the children and youth that He’s placed in my life (which actually brought me to tears).

He reminded me of the feelings of loneliness, doubt, the constant taunts of the enemy, the feeling of self-worthlessness and the list goes on and on. 

God showed me all of these things but the one thing that He allowed me to figure out on my own that was more horrific than any of the fore-mentioned problems was the losing of my place at the table with Jesus (Note:  I also think that this was the reason that He allowed the enemy the opportunity to attack
me in this
area). 

I went through dream after dream of realizing that I was no longer in God’s presence and in my opinion it had to be a small measure of what hell is going to be like as the torment was great and the pain awful to endure. 

In the dreams, I would even be aware of how much God loved me but for some reason I  wouldn’t turn back to Him but kept on using the drugs and soon (in the dream) I realized that I was back in that dark hole that I used to be in when using drugs feeling my world caving in.

After a few weeks of having these dreams I was really starting to freak a little about why I was revisiting something that I thought was long in my past and to be honest I was starting to fall into a little bit of despair.

Thankfully the Lord got His point across to me and did not let me dilly dally
into these
depths of despair for long as He also later gave me dreams to
where I repented
and turned my heart back to Him where I was showed that I had regained my seat at the table with Him and the feelings of despair soon left and were replaced with complete joy. 

God allowed me through this to show you that He understands why we’re addicted to not only drugs but other things. 

While drugs (and any addictive behavior) can make us feel numb or forget pain they never solve anything and only cause us physical, emotional, and spiritual harm.

God can and is always willing to help  anyone learn why they have fallen into it and eventually use the entire situation as a tool to not only heal oneself but in my case as well as many others use it to help other brothers and sisters by putting a face on their problem so that they can identify and deal with it.

Now I’m sure that there are some of you that are reading this that think  I’m crazy for putting something like this out for everyone to see but those that know me know that this is just simply what I do for my life is not my own.

My life has been so radically changed by God and I’m so thankful of what He has done in it that I have no problem sharing my weaknesses, the things that I still struggle with, or what He’s allowed me to walk through and brought me out of especially if it ends up helping someone that finds themselves in similar situations that I was in to overcome the issues that are separating them from being in the presence of a beautiful, fulfilling relationship with a Holy and loving God.

If you are dealing with an addiction to drugs or any of the other daily things that are trying to attack your identity in Christ know that Jesus has not forgotten about you. 

On the contrary, He wants to let you know How much He loves you and He has used this man to write His heart to you concerning the situation or situations that you find yourself in right now.

 Know that He suffered, bled, and died on the cross to deal with what you’re going through right now and He wants you to know that the feelings of despair, loneliness, hopelessness, self-loathing, self-abasement and guilt
does not come
from Him but from your natural, separated from His presence self and the taunts  of our mutual adversary “the devil”.

 He wants you to know that He loves you today and that He has provided a way to  get you out of that prison you’re in right now but you can only do
so if you
allow Him to lead your life through repentance, asking of forgiveness of the sin, and allowing Him to lead you out of the dark place by His hand into His marvelous light.

 He smiles when He things of you. He knows every thought that you have ever had and every will have. He knows everything that you have done and ever will do. 

He has seen everything that you have seen and will ever see yet He still loves and adores you with an endless love that is all consuming in its passion.

 Seek Him, listen to Him, call on the name of Jesus and He is faithful to  near and answer you because He knows the cry of His sheep.   

May God bless you and keep you dear brothers and sisters!

 Ron “Big Black” Garrett

(This article is a reprint that I wrote on:  April 3, 2010 for Facebook)

Comments

Leave a Reply

