Distorted Dreams

Posted: November 29, 2011 in Religion
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I had a dream last night (actually about thirty minutes ago).  The dream in itself was not important as it was one of the usual fare. Something or someone was trying to get and kill me and my family, we got separated during the melee and I made a conscience decision to go back, find them and save them. Now I have to reveal something that I’ve kept under wraps for sometime because I just discovered it through revelation not too long ago and that is that I can have a dream and interpret it as I recount it back to myself (this being from God).

Another piece of the puzzle is that I wear a mask a night to sleep with as I have been diagnosed with sleep apnea that I’m beliving God for healing of.  A lot of times I have dreams that are associated with not being able to breathe which is why I wear the mask as it opens the airway while I sleep and enables me to breathe. 

When I have these dreams they normally are a dream that God shows me things in but they are distorted by the mask but God normally sorts the details out so that I know the difference between the effect of the mask and what information of vision He intended for me to see because He’s faithful like that.

Before you ask me to interpret a dream know that the gift does not seem (not yet anyway) to extend beyond me and my dreams.  Also know that I can assure you that I will not be broadcasting the fact that I can interpret dreams  in the future unless God gives me the okay and for now I can surely tell you that I cannot interpret anyone else’s dreams so don’t bother trying to ask me to do so as I will just tell you what I’m telling you now, I CANNOT INTERPRET YOUR DREAMS!!  So to save yourself from hearing what I just told you in this paragraph don’t ask.  I digress.

Again, when God woke me up to write this it was not about the dream, the truth is for the first time in a long time I didn’t receive an interpretation of it anyway.  God spoke to me about why I was having trouble seeing and making things out in the realm even though the dream itself was clear.  You see, the dream was not clear because it was distorted.

The point of this whole topic is that God wants us to know that He gives us many dreams and desires to interpret them for us through ourselves (like I can for myself) or from others that are gifted to do so.  I don’t mean just your nightly dreams during hours of slumber; I also mean your daily dreams and visions that our loving father gives us as we walk through life with Him.

 He wants us to know that He always gives us clear vision of what He wants us to see but it is we the things that we allow into our lives that end up allowing the dreams that He gives us to be distorted.  While mine, at night become distorted by my mask, many of us put on masks during our daily walk that end up distorting what God is trying to show us.

Some of the things that cause distortion are hard to see such as the things that we watch on television or that we hear in music because the enemy has had us taught and brainwashed into believing that if it doesn’t have cussing or nudity in it that it’s “okay”. 

 We often view programs for entertainment or participate in things that seem tame that have witchcraft, divination, sorcery, sex, foul talk, suggestive behaviors etc., and right now I’m just referring to the programs that I see on the family and children’s channels and expect that these things have no affect on our spirits. Well, they do, and I can tell you that it is not okay and God does not desire for us to be blinded by the evil things that the devil throws before your eye and ear gates. 

It is we, His people that allow those things and the sad fact is that we in our hearts know what those things are not good for our spirits (most of the time anyway) yet we have learned to harden our hearts from God’s message to avoid them and we then end up having to deal with the consequences of allowing them into our lives until we are ready to finally give them up so that the veil can be lifted off our eyes and we can once again see God’s vision of things.

 These things are different for each individual just as our walks with Christ are.  It may be a television show that your wife can watch but you cannot and vice versa.  It could be, as I found out this year, an addiction to food.  It could be the affirmation of others.  Maybe it’s the internet, fantasy football, knitting, etc.; the point is ANYTHING can be a distortion if it is not brought under the control of Christ. 

The point is not to tell you that God does not want or desire you to do these things it is to tell you that we need be on guard against putting anything before Him and recognize when He warns us that something is a danger to the spirit that He’s placed in and walks with us in. It’s the control that these things sometimes have over us that makes them an idol or it’s the access point or root for the enemy to come in that God wants us to be aware of. 

This is a message that most of us have heard if we’ve been in church for long yet we leave the pew, go home and watch or listen to the very thing that God was trying to warn us about (I’m calling myself guilty on that one!)  As I look back at the last few years I can see how getting rid of certain television shows, most secular music, a few things here and there and replacing them with more of His word through music and television that He approves of for me at that particular time in my walk (yes it will change as you grow in Him) has made the picture that He has painted for my life clearer.

I don’t know what distortions you have in your life that are making it hard to see what He has for you but I encourage you to pray to Him and ask Him what they are.  More importantly, I ask you to obey Him when He shows you.  The devil is mad right now because He couldn’t get me to go back to sleep as I  wanted to at 4 O’clock this morning on one of the few days that I could sleep in because He knew that there is someone that is now reading this whose life is about to change because of my obedience to His voice.  (I’m excited for you whoever you are!!)

God’s vision for us is so beautiful, the plans that He has for us are so amazing and the future that He’s promised us is so bright why would we not turn to Him to clear our eyes so that we could see it?

 I urge us all to ask God to show us the things that are distoring the view of whatever the Lord is trying to show us in our daily walk with Him.

He loves you and seeks to have a more meaningful, personal relationship with all of His children.  Be blessed!

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

