“I Can Do All Things Through Christ Who Strengthens Me” (The Strength has already been given to us)

Posted: December 14, 2011 in Articles, Freedom, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Philippians 4:13 (NKJV):  “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”.

It’s amazing how often we fail to utilize the power that we have been given in Christ-Jesus.  I myself have often been guilty of this and as part of my walk with Him I’m sure that I’ll be guilty of this numerous more times throughout my times upon the Earth in this fleshly-covered vessel.

When we read the words in Philippians 4:13  what do we see, what do we hear, what do we feel? 

We often interpret that scripture to mean that much like a magician God will just magically strengthen us every time the need arises.

However, I would like to share with you what God shared with me this morning as I began to pray to Him, praise Him, and thank Him for all that He has and will do for me today.

As I sat down to pray, the forementioned scripture refernece immediately popped into my head and kept bouncing off of the walls of my brain until I couldn’t even concentrate on praying to and praising God. 

From experience I knew that He was getting ready to speak to my heart and what He told me astounded me and made me look at this scripture in a new light.

It is quite okay for us to draw strength from the scripture as the scriptures are a source of great wisdom and in my own life I often draw quantitative inspiration from them as I search for answers to how I should live and walk this life out.

However, this morning God plained let me know that He has already provided me (us) with all of the strength that we’ll ever need to handle any situation that may arise during this lifetime and He did so over 2000 years ago when He took on flesh in the person Jesus Christ and died a horrible and gruesome death for us on the cross.

Does this mean that we don’t have to pray? Does this mean that we don’t need to call out to Him for strength in times of need?  Of course not! As I posed these same questions to God He gently provided the wisdom to me that I was seeking. 

God was not trying to make me feel like I was un-intelligent or anything for I thought that I understood the scripture all of these years.  He wanted to me to understand that as I grow closer to Him (or become more mature in Him) new revelations or new understandings of what I’ve already learned will surface and this as I’m sure more mature brothers and sisters in the faith that are smiling in amusement at my musings right now (because they already have learned  or know this) can teach us never end as long as we live this life and I so look forward to continuing the learning and growing process.  How exciting is that?

The lesson here is that the statement “I can do all things” that we need to focus on for a moment in this scripture.  Many times when we don’t have victory in a given situation it is because we walk in fear of what may happen, or because we don’t feel strong enough, or we haven’t grown enough in that certain area to make His word a true reality in our life and He pointed out to me this morning that issue is the very point of learning to “walk” out our journey with Christ.

Though He has given us all that we need we must learn how to utilize this strength and that only comes through practice, trials, study of His word, learning how to call upon and utilize the Holy Spirit to gain God’s wisdom, and finally learning how to put the knowlege of God’s strength into action or use.

For example; I can look back on the numerous times that I tried to quit smoking and failed, succeeded, failed, etc., It was only when I completely gave it up to God and quit trying to do it on my on (utilized the strength that HE had already given me which is Himself) I was able to truly quit for good and now I hate what I used to love. 

It is only through the prism of time that I can look back on my efforts to quit smoking (and through some of the maturation in Christ process) and say that I now realize that I had the strength to quit smoking all along. 

The same could be said of the drugs that I use to abuse and as I’m learning the various other addictions that God has or is still walking me through.

I’m encouraged by His patience with me and I’m awed that the grace that He provides gives me the freedom to make mistakes and allows me to recognize new spiritual muscles that I never new existed which in turn provides me with strength that was already there that I just need to develop.  That is so awesome to me and I’m constantly amazed with how much He loves and cares for me!

Still, with all that I felt that God spoke to my heart this morning, a final question crossed my mind. Does God provide us an extra boost when we need it? 

Well, as usual, He threw me for a loop (he knows that I love His mysterious ways of doing things) and didn’t answer that for me this morning which means that He may choose to do so at a later date or more than likely He’s said all that He has to say to me on the matter and now leaves me as I do you to digest what He has already said and draw upon the strength that He has  already provided strength us and through the leading and guiding of the Holy Spirit allow it to maturely manifest itself into our lives as our journey with Him continues.

He so loves you today and by His strength I wrote to you today and leave you with love from your brother-in-Christ and with a Holy kiss.

Be blessed and may the Lord protect you, your family, and friends during this “Holy-day” season that we celebrate the birth of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ! 

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

(Note:  Please realize when I write that I’m sharing (most of the time immediately) what God has placed on MY heart and often it is intended for myself and others who are dealing with or will deal with issues that I have or will go through.  This is part of the “walking it out” process that I’m going through but my life is open enough to share what I feel God speaks to me along with my thoughts on it at the time that He gives it to me.  Over time and as I grow my thoughts on a given subject may change as I continue to gain wisdom but I’m continually awed that God has given me the ability to “share” as I grow”.)

Leave a Reply

