Black History And The Unforgiving Spirit

Posted: February 17, 2012 in Articles, Constitution, Freedom, Liberty, Politics, Religion, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

1 Corinthians 6:20:  “you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body.”

Isaiah 44:22: “I have swept away your offenses like a cloud, your sins like the morning mist. Return to me, for I have redeemed you.”

Acts 20:28:  “Keep watch over yourselves and all the flock of which the Holy Spirit has made you overseers. Be shepherds of the church of God, which he bought with his own blood.”

Romans 12:1:  “Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God–this is your spiritual act of worship.”

During this “Black History Month” I am saddened and incredulous at how pompous, arrogant, ignorant, and hardened that many in our community have become to what is happening to the very souls of our children who are being lost to a war that is being waged against them by our enemy.

We as parents, leaders, and elders in our communities have been tricked by our true enemy the devil into believing that the real enemy is the white man or any other man that we can see a put a face to the ills that are present in our society when the Bible, God’s word, if you will plainly warns us in Ephesians 6:12:  “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms”., yet we continue to get all high and mighty during “Black History Month” as if this month that does have historical significance matters more to God than winning and fighting for the souls of the little ones that we have been tasked to pluck out of this world of darkness into His wonderful world of light.

I’m soundly and erroneously chastised by people who don’t know me, who don’t know my heart, who don’t do what God blesses me to do about my “blackness” or lack thereof because I don’t run around genuflecting to every cause and every program that is “black”.

They have no clue that I am a black man that knows his black history in most cases better than the “once a year’ers” that only truly get serious  about black history during the month of February.

While I often abstain from activities during this month you can normally find me somewhere in one of our neighborhoods teaching boys that have been taught to hate everyone and themselves to love and be loved by a Holy God.  I can be found teaching them how to respect our queens for the beautiful creatures that God made them as I speak to the young ladies about respecting themselves and how beautiful God says they are  for you see I don’t just want to attend a program, I LIVE BLACK HISTORY!

I study the history and evolution of racism and I know that the whole purpose of the great pioneers of the civil rights movement was to make our lives better and you can rest assure that our communities will only become better when we raise and teach our children about first and foremost the love of the Lord Jesus Christ and to ensure that the past doesn’t repeat itself, black history.

 However, I prefer to do this by living and teaching it as a part of our American heritage during the other eleven months or 337 days of the year and not allow myself to regulate my history, this portion of American history, to be regulated to 28 or 29 days out of the year.

All of the sometimes pompous programs, all of the pot luck dinners, all of the often self grandizing shows and events that often fade away from the black psyche the first week of March concerning black history mean nothing to the young child that has been abandoned, or a woman who has been left  by a selfish man to raise children without a father, or anyone else that has to constantly fight for their very survival be it physical or spiritual get through their dark days and what’s worse is that these programs or events are often guilty of helping our people receive an unforgiving spirit that is factually against the teachings of the Lord Jesus Chris Himself.

Though I do appreciate the intent of many of these events during this month of February I would rather see the sea of blackness that attend them be more consistent in adopting an attitude of service toward the children, the elderly, the needy, spiritually bankrupt, and unsaved that reside in our communities (as well as other communities) than seeing how many more “black facts” we can learn.

God has given many of us a platform to reach our children yet many of us often speak a good game to our children in need but are absent from the field of play when it comes time to “huddle up” and get in the game of doing what God has so aptly made us for and that is teach these kids less about hating and mistrusting the white man and everyone else and more about God’s grace, His mercy, and love.

Jesus was beaten and died a horrible, gruesome death for all of mankind to be saved yet unlike many of my black brothers and sisters who constantly walk around blaming the white man for this or the white man for that and teaching our children to do it He didn’t hate us as we have taught many in our communities to hate everything that isn’t black but loved us and forgave us yet we have been loathe to forgive the ones in the white community that perpetrated the wrongs against our race as well as others.

Need I remind the person that is reading this that has just stepped into offense of what God admonished us, His people in Luke 6:37: “Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven.  We as followers in Christ with black heritage sometimes act like there was a caveat that gave us a pass against this instruction in God’s word because of our past history of abuse and racism in this country.

The enemy has tricked many of us into believing that we have forgiven the racists of the past and present for their wrongs but as it says in Luke 6:45; “The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks”.

When we realize what this verse is saying and we use its tenant to judge it against what many in the black community say behind every other race’s back when we talk about them we know that the truth is that many if not most of our mouths are dripping with the language of an unforgiving spirit that looks nothing like the God that we often pretend to know in the Bible.

Thank God that Jesus in His perfect wisdom, grace and mercy did not have the attitude that many in the black community have today of unforgiveness against those that have done them wrong for we would all be going to hell because we all wronged Him yet He died for us and forgave us though we deserved to die yet the black community continues to live in and seethe with unforgiveness.  (Those that practice this WILL BE JUDGED when they face God!)

God wants us to stop being just as racist as the racist, forgive the racist, learn from the mistakes that were made, and move forward into His will for our lives  because it is the unforgiveness that is so pervasive in our communities that is the cause of so many of our ills yet the devil has so skillfully had us teach ourselves that it is another race who’s to blame for all of our problems when anyone must be able to see that many of our problems (just as it is in other communities) come from the various parts of our communities that cannot or will not receive the word of God.

So you can have all of your programs, you can have all of your events, you can have all of your dinners, and you can keep your bitterness towards me because I dare to challenge so many with the truth.

I choose to remember our part in American history but only as far as it relates to the lesson’s that I can take from it and apply it to my true heritage which is not a black one but a God one.

I choose to not walk around and talk about how evil some white (and other races) when they are wrong towards me (many times only perceived to be) because it shows that I have a lack of faith in God to conquer the evil in this world and limits the power of Jesus that courses through my veins as a prince, co-heir to the throne, and a child of God, the Most High.

I choose to forgive those that have wronged our race and pray for them, their descendants, and anyone else who has the poison of racism (both black, white, and other) in their hearts because only God can change hearts, minds, and attitudes and my part is to show them Jesus yet how can I when unforgiveness and racism is as plain on my face as an unwanted, mountainous pimple?

For those offended at me right now check your heart and ask God why you are offended for you shouldn’t be offended at me because I didn’t wake myself up wanting to write about a topic at “O dark thirty” in the morning God did and  I am but a humble servant of the Lord Most High who truly enjoys his sleep yet when He calls I must answer it for I am not my own and even when the message is not warm and fuzzy I still must deliver it for He knows that there is someone out there that will heed it.

Be blessed and I leave you with the love of Christ and a Holy kiss from your brother and co-heir to the throne.

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

(Note: Once again for those who want to pull my “Black” card go ahead and pull it because I gave it up for a Jesus card almost nine years ago. Unlike the “Black” card the Jesus card has no strings attached to it and has much better benefits and even further it allows me to appreciate my “blackness” on a freedom level instead of a “slave” and/or “lack” mentality.)

Comments
  1. Outstanding post, you have pointed out some fantastic details , I also believe this s a very wonderful website.

  2. […] I find it absolutely hilarious that I’ve seemed to offend some in the black community in regards to my stance of considering myself a Christian before considering myself being a black man (referring to the looks and comments that I receive after I posted my thoughts on “Black History And The Unforgiving Spirit” Link to the article: https://ronbigblackgarrett.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/black-history-and-the-unforgiving-spirit/). […]

  3. Very proud of you, as usual, Ron.

Leave a Reply

