Proverbs 22:7:  Just as the rich rule the poor, so the borrower is a servant to the lender.

Speaking as a person who for the past six years has gone from approximately $50,000 in debt down to about $12,000 I know that I wasn’t being the leader of the house financially that God intended me to be.

As I went my household went. Once I started to study what God says about how to utilize the finances that He blessed me with I started seeing progress, slowly at first but exponential as time passed with my faithful attention to my budget and by learning to say no to myself and my family.

If you have found yourself in debt listen, let it speak to you, and then listen to what God has to say about the matter and do it. 

God never intended us to be “a servant to the lender” and when we are in this bondage we cannot completely serve God with the freedom that he intended us to.

Give God the issues that have caused you to become entrapped into a seemingly hopeless situation and allow Him to lead you out of that wilderness into the pasture of financial freedom. 

It may not be easy but speaking as one who is well on the way to being financially free I can tell you that the closer that I get to being debt free the more I feel the noose of debt loosen away from my financial neck and the freer and more alive I become.

I’m able to give more freely and I’m able to be even more of a blessing to others as God desires me to be than I ever thought that I could be.

I’ve written a couple of articles on finances but I think that since it is so timely (especially now in this economy) I will revisit this issue perhaps quarterly or at least semi-annually.

I pray that this letter will be the beginning for someone to revisit their financial situation by the leading of the Holy Spirit and I pray that it helps someone to see that it can be done if we allow God to take over in this and every area of our lives.

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

