“Hey, You All Right?”

Posted: June 26, 2012 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , ,

Had something funny happen on Sunday that I have to share.  Part of my morning routine before I do anything else is that I normally pray face down (prostrate) on the floor before I get on with the business of the day.

My son (Devonte, adopted church son) who regularly spends the weekends with us sleeps in as late as possible and since he is normally asleep until I get up I hadn’t realized that he’d never witnessed me on my face before the Lord as my other children have.

 Since they’re used to it the rest of the family either leaves the room or sits down quietly until I’m finished praying. I heard Devonte come in the room and when he saw me he walked up to me and said “hey, you all right?)

 Still laying down I realized that he thought that I was dead or unconscious so I raised a finger in the air signaling that I was okay. I could feel him pause for a moment and then it hit him what I was doing so he went and sat down while I finished praying.

By this time I was almost giggling uncontrollably because I knew that he felt silly that he didn’t recognize that I was praying and it was just so funny to me to see the look on his face now that he knew what I was doing.

I then got up and looked at him as he was still somewhat embarrassed and I said, “hey, thanks for checking on me dude and if you ever walk in and I’m on the floor and you check on me and I don’t raise a finger up, kick the carp out of me just to be sure I’m alive!” At that we both fell out laughing.

 It was one of those moments that we’ll remember forever but the best part of it is that God has used me to model behavior that I pray he will use to model someday for his children as I hope that have to walk in on him, face down on the floor and ask him “hey, you all right?”.

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

