Missing God’s Message But Still Making the “Divine Appointment” (From Popeye’s to Bojangle’s)

Posted: August 6, 2012 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , ,

As I drove home today from a usual awesome day of worship, fellowship, and fun at church I was faced with the dilemma that grips my life one day a week (normally on Sunday) “it’s my “cheat day” on my diet so what do I want to eat that I can’t have that I will not have during the rest of the week?”

Now I’m a creature of habit and my wife will tell you that my military mind will almost always take me to the shortest and most direct way to complete an objective so with that in mind my choices become narrower and more defined as I normally stick to places that are in the direct path of the way that I travel home.

One of my favorite things to have is fried chicken and my favorite fried chicken brand is Popeye’s (even if I have to go out of my way to get it) and since there was one on the direct route that I take home from my awesome day at church I figured that I’d stop by and grab a box “to go” and be chomping on and enjoying it in about fifteen minutes.

But as they say “ a funny thing happened on the way to the store” and all of a sudden I started having flashes of another fried chicken place (Bojangle’s) which I consider almost just as good as Popeye’s but I quickly disavowed even considering them because of course I would have to go out of my way to get to them and that my friend was not part of “Big Black’s” plan to hurry up, get to the house, and watch the U.S.A kick “booty” in the games of the XXX Olympiad.

So as I again focused my attention on getting to Popeye’s I started considering which sides that I would like to compliment the delicious chicken that I was going to savor this afternoon when again Bojangle’s popped into my mind I and found myself wondering “I know that they are out-of-the-way but why don’t I give them a try today?”

Now I found myself getting annoyed at myself as the road to a decision had to be made but I found myself being drawn more and more to Bojangle’s and even though I really wanted to make the expedient choice to go to Popeye’s which was now so close that I could smell those famous Louisiana spices that they put in the batter as they prepare the chicken and the biscuits that as I think of them right now as I type this are making my mouth water.

I made a sharp, left turn (again, out of my way mind you) to go to Bojangle’s and I satiated myself by telling myself “well, it’ll only cost me a couple of minutes anyway” but as I was pulling in the turning lane I knew that there was something funny about the whole situation but my hunger overshadowed the rest of my logic and I put any further nonsensical thoughts out of my mind for as Garfield the cat would say “there’s chicken to be eaten my boy!”

As I entered the restaurant I again had a strange feeling that I was not there just to fulfill a need for my favorite food and I would find out in just about sixty seconds that the strange feeling that I had was more than just hunger and as much as I would like to say that I was “on top of my spiritual game” I can honestly say that I had no clue as to what would happen next as I gave my order and began the wait for my food.

All of a sudden and as I started talking to the lady behind the counter as she prepared my food I started noticing a “heaviness” about this woman through the “corporate smile” that she wore as she bagged my food and I did as I routinely do when I enter any store, shop, restaurant or being serviced in any way I asked her if there was anything or anyone, or any need that I could pray for her about and immediately a flash hit me as the “heaviness” that I felt multiplied on her face and I all sudden knew that I had been brought there for more than a meal.

Since the store was past the “church rush” she was able to take a second and explain to me with held back tears that her “old man had just passed away last week from a massive heart attack” and “ could I pray for her” because she didn’t know what to do or which way to turn.

I told her that I would and immediately God started putting the words that she needed to hear in my mouth as I spoke to her about his grace, mercy, and how He wanted her to know that He is the comfort that she needed during this tough time and that all she needed to do was turn to Him and peace was surely to follow and I proceeded to pray for her right there on the spot as she proceeded to finish up my order as her manager was giving her the “evil eye” for taking so long with one customer though the store was empty.

When she had filled my order and as she was handing it to me I guess that she felt comfortable enough with me to provide another revelation to me because she then told me that they had been in an “adulterous” relationship (he had still been married to his wife though long separated) and that she knew that she had to change some things because prophetically her boyfriend had told her a couple of days before he suddenly died that they were going to have to make some changes because “they were not living right” and they had made plans to get the relationship out of the adulterous stage, start going to church, and a few more details that I choose not to divulge because of their sensitive nature and she felt that God was trying to tell her something.

I then let her know that indeed God had used her boyfriend to tell her something as He also spoke to him about making things right but I knew from the “heaviness” that I felt and saw on her face that the enemy as he always does was trying to use this incident as a final nail in this woman’s coffin to “kill” her desire to repent, ask for forgiveness, and turn back to the loving God who had sent a man who was driven by hunger and a love for fried chicken to give her an encouraging word during this tough time that she was facing.

The rest of what we discussed will have to remain private but I left the establishment knowing that God had given this woman a “light” of hope in the “sea of darkness” that was surrounding her and just as he had done with Peter when He walked on the water in the midst of the sea all she had to do is reach out and take His gentle, loving hand and He would ensure that she would be carried back to the safety and comfort that only He can provide.

Finally, the lesson in this is that I was not trying to be some “super-spiritual” Christian as I drove home and most assuredly I did miss what the Lord was trying to tell me in the beginning but praise be to Him He had answered a prayer that I prayed a long time ago and that is to “not let me override what you are trying to do in my life for others, my family, or myself and to always put people before me that need your help O’ Lord even when I don’t feel like it and to not let a moment to help “slip by” due to my wanton “flesh” or any unseen selfish attitude that I have yet to outgrow.” Amen!

This is the reason that I stay “prayed up” but the Lord also showed me that irregardless of what I think I’m doing and what I think I know He is always in control and I can trust Him to do what is right and good even when I somehow miss the mark or look past the mission that He is giving me even during my “in the flesh” moments just because He loves me and He knows that as I continue to grow in Him that I’ll “miss the message or mission” less and less as my discernment and my ability to hear His “small, still voice” grows stronger and stronger through prayer, study of His word, and by leading of His Holy Spirit.

However, perhaps the most incredible thing about this whole adventure today was that as I drove home and was somewhat disappointed in myself for “missing” what God was tryng to show me He took me back to the days earlier in my walk and showed me that back then  I would not even have felt the prompting that I felt today to go in a different direction that I normally would go and even if I had I would not have noticed the “heaviness” on whom ever He was putting in front of me because I had not grown to the point of where I am today and He also reminded me that the reason that I did notice today was because of my growing faithfulness and desire to serve and please Him and that in itself was a blessing to me because I (we) often cannot see the growth that God has done in me (us).

So not only did He use me to help someone but in doing so I was rewarded in a way that no amount of money or gold could ever duplicate for my faith was increased in great measure and I knew that my Heavenly Father had just given a “Heavenly” pat on the head to a son that He is most proud of and whom He loves as a co-heir to the throne with His Son and our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

Is this you today?  Are you “prayed up” so that even if you “miss the mark”  God will still steer you into a “divine” appointment so that He can use you to lift someone’s spirit out of a “sea of darkness”?

I encourage you to make this part of your prayers and to be on the lookout for those “urgings” to go in a completely different way than your normal or usual way of doing things for it just might be that God is trying to tell you something or put someone in front of you that needs a word from Him.

He so loves you today and desires to fulfill every purpose for everything that you will ever need to accomplish His pure and perfect will for your life so take it all to Him so that you’ll never have to worry about it if you happen to “miss the mark” because He in His perfect “will” will have your back and you’ll be covered in all that you do.

Be blessed dear brothers and sisters and I leave you with a Holy kiss from your brother in Christ with whom “all things are possible”.

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Comments
  1. Alesia says:

    Absolutely amazing! Love how you share the changes He’s made in your life and how He uses you.

Leave a Reply

