Don’t Disparage My God! (A Funny Story From When I First Got Saved)

Posted: September 14, 2012 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

(NOTE:  The following is a response to a comment of a discussion on FB.  It is a story from when I first gave my life to Christ and when I was working with various groups of international soldiers from around the world but for the most part the group that was in-house was mostly from Muslim nations and most of them from Egypt.  Now I have many friends in Egypt and many of them know this story so it is nothing new but I feel that it is a funny one that my Muslim friends and I can recall upon that wasn’t funny at the time but through the prism of time is now hilarious and even they have a laugh about how “jihadist” I was about my God!)

Comment to the question of why Christians are not as vocal about their faith as Muslims:

I have a funny one to tell.  When I first got saved I was much like Peter so if you said anything negative about God I was still as aggressive as my “worldly” self  that I’d be ready to fight you if you said anything about Jesus.  I was taking a group of my students who were mostly Muslims from other countries to Memphis (I believe) and they and my boss started talking about religion and they started giving him the business about how much better Islam was than Christianity was and I as usual tried to quell the talk because I knew that it was an issue that should be avoided especially since this was a business trip and it was our job to show them “slices” of Americana in the Southeast U.S.A.

They kept going and going and eventually they started talking about and making fun of Jesus and I being new in the faith and not yet learning to listen to the Holy Spirit to stay peaceful lost it.

Now you have to understand that many of them actually witnessed my transformation from darkness to light as I went to the strip club on Friday, got saved on Sunday and was a totally different person on Monday yet I was still learning to deal with all of the trappings of my former life that God wanted to walk me through including the anger of growing up fatherless.

Also, at the time I was a very big dude that lived in the gym and at that time I could bench press just over 500 lbs (verifiable I might add!) and many of them were already scared of me because they were pretty small dudes and they were scared of black dudes because of the images portrayed on CNN and whenever we would go out they saw that I feared no one and if anyone bothered them I threatened to beat them to a pulp even if it was three or more guys so they also thought that I was nuts!

Anyway they kept talking about and laughing about Jesus so I finally had enough.  I said; “Look!!! I always have respected your Mohammad and your faith but now you’re going to respect mine so quit your yapping about my God!”  One of them made the mistake of thinking that since we were driving in a van that he could say something underneath his breath and immediately all of them started laughing again.

I immediately switched lanes and started pulling over to the shoulder of the road and by this time I had “swolled up” which we in the hood say when we’re ticked off and ready to fight and I much like Peter told them in no uncertain terms that just like they believed in dying for their God I believed in whipping somebody’s butt over mine and if they kept on talking about Jesus that I was going to whip not just the one who said it but the whole group!

I know, I know, that was not very Jesus-like but remember I had only been saved for a few weeks and was on fire for God and much like when someone says something about one’s family I was ready to fight.

I would have a totally different reaction this day because of the peace I have in Jesus but at that time I was ready to clean house and would’ve lost my job if any of them had said another word.  Thank God they got the message and my boss didn’t fire me for breaking protocol so it all worked out.

Needless to say that was a long, three hour, quiet ride that my boss and I still talk about to this day!.

It’s funny to me now but back then I was HOTTTTT! And sometimes I wish that we as Christians could do what the other faiths do when we are disparaged but I know that is not the way but for a short while as God was walking me through my early faith I was a “radical” who much like the “radical” Muslims would’ve attacked you for talking about my God!

I could’ve gotten fired for the incident or at least reprimanded but at that time in my walk I didn’t give a rip.  NO ONE disparages my God!!!   LOL!!

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

