“A Second Thought On Christmas By The “Big, Black, Dude”

Posted: December 18, 2012 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

(The following views are my personal views that have been established because what I’ve gleaned from my own, personal walk during this lifetime.  When I am in Rome I do as the Romans do and vigorously (my wife would debate me on that) celebrate Christmas the way whomever hosting me celebrates it.)

1 Peter 1:16:  “because it is written, “YOU SHALL BE HOLY, FOR I AM HOLY.”

Colossians 2:8:  See to it that no one takes you captive by philosophy and empty deceit, according to human tradition, according to the elemental spirits of the.

Romans 14: 5-6:  “One person esteems one day as better than another, while another esteems all days alike.  Each one should be fully convinced in his own mind.  The one who observes the day, observes it in honor of the Lord.  The one who eats, eats in honor of the Lord, since he gives thanks to God, while the one who abstains, abstains in honor of the Lord and give thanks to God.

Colossians 2:16:  Therefore let no one pass judgment on you in questions of food and drink, or with regard to a festival or a new moon or a Sabbath.

As I mentioned the other day my mom was a Jehovah’s Witness so I spent many a Christmas season as a child devoid of celebrating it and I was often bitter while growing up (and later as an adult when I recalled those times) as I saw kids celebrating one of the most “wonderful times of the year” and it was most often one of the most miserable times of the year for me except for the times that I would sneak a little Christmas celebration in when visiting other members of my family or my friends houses and even then I often lied that we celebrated it our house too though I suspect that they all knew the truth.  

However, as I finally “grew up” and later gave my life to Jesus I had the opportunity to view this period of my life through the prism of time and realized that what I thought was a miserable time actually became a blessing for me in my current “Christian” life because as I celebrate these “Holy-day” during these years of my life I find that often I do not subscribe to the traditional trappings of Christmas’ societal norms to guide me in my celebration of the day that represents the birth of the most important person and the one that has brought cataclysmic change into my life, Jesus Christ.

I don’t begrudge or judge anyone else their choice to celebrate Christmas as they wish (1 Corinthians 8: 1-13/Colossians 2:16)but as I said in an earlier blog-post I am saddened by how so-called Christians act so selfishly during this what should be one of the Holiest days that we should celebrate and if that statement is true then why not reverentially do as God has told us in His word found in 1 Peter 1:16: “because it is written, “YOU SHALL BE HOLY, FOR I AM HOLY.” 

I’ve witnessed people shove and accost one another as they duel for the best “holiday” deals in the stores being rude, arrogant, mean, and downright ugly to one another and many of the worst offenders are the “Christians” who should be the most orderly ones in the stores because even shopping offers an opportunity to shine God’s light into the darkness of un-saved souls yet instead we often trade darkness for darkness. 

People also practice gift-giving which is supposed to be representative of the selfless act of us taking our imperfect and dead lives to Jesus and getting a perfect and eternal one in exchange though we did nothing to deserve it and sully this beautiful exchange by acting like impetuous children when they selfishly give a gift with the expectation of getting one of equal and oftentimes greater value than the one that they give and acting a fool or holding a grudge when this happens.

So it is with great reverence and respect that I praise God that He took a period of my life that I thought that I was missing out on “Christmas” and all the trappings thereof when really He knew that if I missed most of this drivel that the true “reason for the season” would truly resonate within my heart with a fuller meaning than one of practicing many of the leftover pagan traditions that have become intermingled with our celebration of the representative date of birth of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

I say this not to offend and if you are check out what the Bible says about offense (maybe God is trying to tell you something) but when the story of Santa Clause and the Elves resonate more with our children than Jesus and why God allowed Mary a pure-of-heart virgin (virgins used to be revered now they are mocked) to usher in Life itself back into the world to offer all that would receive Him a way to live life eternal with Him through Jesus Christ. 

Be blessed and Merry Christmas, 

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

 

Leave a Reply

