I Am Barren But Hopeful (A Psalm)

Posted: April 12, 2013 in Articles, Psalms, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I lay my soul before you today my Lord for it is barren and my strength has faded.

I feel as though you are a thousand miles away and the enemy continually whispers in my ear that you have forsaken me.

My body is weak and my mind has become focused upon what ails me instead of the One who can cure both the body and the soul.

I feel as though an army of demons surround me in the middle of a desert where no food nor water can be found.

To the unfaithful my situation looks dire and hopeless; yes, to the untrained eye I look like a man who has been defeated, yet…

I know that since “you are not a man that you should lie” and that your word says that you “will never leave nor forsake me” that you are still with me.

I know that my soul may feel barren and my strength may have faded but in my weakness you show your mighty strength in mighty ways.

I know that though my body fails me and my mind sometimes becomes unfocused all that I have to do is train my eyes to the Heaven and call upon your Holy Name and you will answer my call for your love never fails.

Though I feel surrounded on every side by an army of demons in the middle of a desert you will fight my battle with an army of angels that cannot be defeated for you’ve already fought and won the battle through your beautiful Son, my Savior Jesus Christ.

Though I feel as though I’m in a desert where no food nor water can be found your Spirit sustains me and guides me to still waters and to lands that flow with milk and honey.

I have not been defeated and my situation is not dire nor hopeless for the One who created all that has ever existed comforts me in the midst of my pain and my hope rebounds as I weep during the night for “His mercies are anew every morning”.

So get thee behind me Satan for I know the One who loves me, I know the One whom my hope resides with, I know the One in whom my strength lies with, and I know the One in whom I will forevermore put my trust and belief in.

I thank you dear Jesus for bring light into the pain and darkness that I have found myself in and I’m grateful that I have grown as you walked me through it into your marvelous and beautiful light.

I love you, I praise you, and I commit my life to you as you did yours to me and I will dwell in your house forever!

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Comments
  1. zanspence says:

    Hallelujah. I need this today. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

