Your Relationship Should Bring Honor To God And Your Parents

Posted: August 11, 2013 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Exodus 20:12 – “12 “Honor your father and your mother, that your days may be long in the land that the Lord your God is giving you.”

Ephesians 6:2-3 – “2 “Honor your father and mother” (this is the first commandment with a promise), 3 “that it may go well with you and that you may live long in the land.”

Romans 12:9-10 Let love be genuine. Abhor what is evil; hold fast to what is good. Love one another with brotherly affection. Outdo one another in showing honor.

Just recently a good friend of mine’s son and one of my spiritual fathers daughter began dating and what a beautiful couple they are for they eschew the “world’s” idea of courtship for the way that God would have them.

This past Sunday as i sat in our fellowship hall killing time awaiting to serve in the evening service the newly happy couple walked in, sat down, and began talking.

I know their families and I know that they both unabashedly love God so it was really no surprise to me that their behavior would be above-board but the Lord impressed upon me as I sat behind them about how they with the way that they were carrying themselves brought honor to and showed respect to both of their families and even more important showed a reverence towards Him that even this Man of God who was bearing witness to their courtship could greatly admire.

I know how it is when you are in love and I tell you that after sometime I could tell that they had forgotten that I was even in the room but to understand what was going on I have to tell you that we were in the fellowship hall in our rather large church and the only reason that I was there was because I had about two hours to kill before our night worship service so instead of driving the long distance back to my house I stayed there to await the evening service.

As I sat there God began showing me how they were honoring their parents so immediately He impressed upon me to look around and I then noticed that the fellowship hall was one of the few places that was well lighted and anyone could walk by or come in at a moment’s notice so there was only a modicum of privacy.

God spoke into my heart…”why do you think they chose to sit here when very few other people were in the church?”

I then pondered that question and since I know the layout of the church very well I know that there are many dark places and secluded places that they could’ve went to so that would’ve been more intimate and since few people were in the church no one would’ve been the wiser that they had been alone.

God then impressed upon me that it was because they honored Him that they purposely sought out a place where there was “light” which represents that they want to always keep their relationship pure and Holy in the eyes of God.

He also showed me that they also knew that though they truly had no need of a chaperone that the honorable thing to do was not to put themselves in the position to compromise their faith, disrespect their parents, or even give the appearance of impropriety because as followers of God these two beautiful souls know that we are always on display and since they are both looked at as examples to the youth that are younger to them they CHOOSE to model the appropriate behavior and God just loves that about them.

God then spoke again to my heart the words “honor” and “glory” as He further impressed upon me that they knew what it was, how to live it, and that despite the pressures of this society to do the opposite they CHOOSE to who honor to Him and their actions bring glory to His name.

So this goes out to the Sharps and the DeVries families…it is not a surprise to me that you would’ve raised such outstanding young people who Ethan and Abigail have grown into (well Susan and the DeVries anyway….Ethan turned out great despite STEVE’s influence..LOL! Just kidding my brotha from anotha motha).

Your kids honor and cherish you with their actions and I wrote this for no other fact that they bring both families honor and in doing so they honor God.

Blessings to the Sharps and the DeVries for all that they do for His Kingdom and for raising children who fear, respect, and honor the Lord Jesus in all that they do!

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

