We Honor “Them” Because He First Honored “Us”

Posted: August 21, 2013 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , ,

1 Samuel 2:30 ESV: “Therefore the Lord, the God of Israel, declares: ‘I promised that your house and the house of your father should go in and out before me forever,’ but now the Lord declares: ‘Far be it from me, for those who honor me I will honor, and those who despise me shall be lightly esteemed”.

Romans 12: 19-13 ESV: “Let love be genuine. Abhor what is evil; hold fast to what is good. Love one another with brotherly affection. Outdo one another in showing honor. Do not be slothful in zeal, be fervent in spirit, serve the Lord. Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer. Contribute to the needs of the saints and seek to show hospitality”.

1 Peter 2:17-19 ESV: “Honor everyone. Love the brotherhood. Fear God. Honor the emperor. Servants, be subject to your masters with all respect, not only to the good and gentle but also to the unjust. For this is a gracious thing, when, mindful of God, one endures sorrows while suffering unjustly”.

As brothers and sisters in the faith we must always strive to show people honor even when they may or may not deserve it”.

We honor them not because of anything that they have or have not done…we honor them because of the One who created them…we honor them because God designed them for a specific unique purpose…we honor them because of who resides in our heart, calls us by name and knew us before we were in our mother’s womb.

It is inherently easy to honor (and/or love) someone who we may like or have a high value of respect for and I must admit that it will sometimes be challenging to do the same for those who are inherently dishonorable but as followers of Christ we have no choice and must continually attempt to honor all that we interact with because in doing so we Honor Jesus and because we are not our own and were paid for with a heavy price.

By honoring the people who are in our daily mission field we not only honor ourselves but we honor God because it was He that first honored us by exchanging His beautiful perfect life for our sinful corrupt one when He died a horrible, gruesome but necessary death on that “tree” at Calvary so long ago.

Today’s declaration:

Father God, I will make every attempt to show honor to all that you place before me today even when I feel that they do not deserve it. I pray that you would have me view them through the prism of Your eyes so that I may not see them as they are but remember that you have made them for a specific and unique purpose.

I further pray that when I fall short in this area that you convict me so thoroughly that I cannot do else but to hear it, repent of it, ask forgiveness for it, and by the leading of Your Holy Spirit do better the next time that I am faced with this challenge.

I know that by honoring those that hurt me, those that have caused me pain, those that are deep in besetting sin, those that are hopeless, and those that are lost that I honor You and in doing so the light of Your glory will shine through me beaming and attractive for all that will see it drawing them through me to you like a moth to a flame. I will honor them because you love them and it is my honor to serve You sweet Jesus and I pray that You be with your servant in everything that I set my hands to today and always. I love you my King, my provider, my hope, my comforter, and my joy! In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

By the hand of your servant who lives to honor you,

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

