Lose The “Weight” Both Physically And Spiritually!

Posted: September 13, 2013 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It always amazes me that someone who is witnessing my waistline decline will come up to me and say “man, I wish I could lose weight like you do!”. My response is promptly “You can if you are willing to do what I do to do it!”

Then…when I start telling them to develop a healthy eating plan for 6 days a week cutting out certain foods (you can have all you want on the seventh day BTW), walk at least 30 minutes a day for at least 5 days out of the week, only have healthy snacks unless it’s on your seventh or “cheat” day, etc.

Then…all of a sudden I often hear “well I don’t know if I can do all of that!” Then my response is “well I guess that you truly don’t want to lose weight. You just love the idea of it and want to take the easy way out so go and have another piece of cake and call me when you are serious about losing weight.”

I know that this sounds harsh but I don’t have time to make excuses for mine are others bad choices and while I’m sympathetic to the difficulty of how hard it is to lose weight I also know that if we are willing to sacrifice for a short period of time, dedicate ourselves to the cause that we claim that we love, choose wise accountability groups/partners to help in facilitating our weight loss goal, be willing to make an honest, self-assessment of the behaviors that have allowed us to get unhealthy as well as the behaviors that keep us that way, and lastly but not least be willing to pray specific prayers to God to help them lose the unhealthiness both physically and spiritually that IT CAN AND SHALL BE DONE IN THE NAME OF JESUS!

Ironically, it is a physical parallel to an often spiritual problem as we far too often make excuses as to why we are spiritually lazy in certain areas and are not taking the time to make the honest, spiritual self-assessment that is needed to grow spiritually healthy as Christ designed us to.

Just as we have to eat properly to be healthy so must we eat the proper spiritual food to be spiritually healthy. A balanced diet of reading the Bible daily, spending quiet time with God, repenting and seeking forgiveness as we forgive others that have offended us, and praying to be led by God’s Holy Spirit is how we “exercise” along with the proper diet to achieve good spiritual fitness.

So if you desire to be more physically fit I urge you dear brother or sister to stop making excuses and get to work….I promise you that you can accomplish your goals if you are willing to sacrifice and the rub is that when I think of Christ’s sacrifice for me when He died a horrible, gruesome yet necessary death on a “tree” for me I don’t feel like working out and eating right is that big of a deal in the big scheme of things.

Find out what works for you. Don’t look at other’s routines but be honest and find things that you love to do that will take the weight off. Eat right MOST of the time, rest and sleep more, and get around good, Godly accountability partners to help you but never allow yourself or them to make excuses for you.

YOU CAN DO IT! I BELIEVE IN YOU and more importantly JESUS does which is why He interrupted my lunch to have me write this letter to you. Seek out those that have been successful in shedding the “spiritual fat” out of their lives toward spiritual healthiness as you seek out those that have been successful in shedding off the physical fat and if you are honest without reservation I have no doubt that you will accomplish your goals and pretty soon you will have to do what I’ll have to do soon…buy some new clothes!!

I love you and all that I said is in love as some of you know that you needed this so every time you are eating unhealthy, not exercising, not sleeping enough you will NOT have an excuse because God has used this former bodybuilder who got fat that has physical limitations that YOU CAN DO THIS and that He is in the gym, in the refrigerator, on the road when you are struggling to walk, and in your heart as you make the physical and spiritual changes to a better, more healthier you and when you look in the mirror you’ll be glad that you did!

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Philippians 4:13 KJV: 13 I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

Philippians 4:19 KJV: 19 But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.

P.S. – BTW, I too struggle with weight loss so I’m not the pot…..! Once I made my mind up to do everything that I’m saying here I started to finally get a grip on my weight loss. I applied what I learned spiritually so again IT CAN BE DONE! Doesn’t mean that I won’t struggle or even relapse but I WON”T GIVE UP because Christ hasn’t given up on me!

Leave a Reply

