The Discipline That We Practice On The “Good Days” Will Enable Us To Fight Through The Days That We Don’t Want To Work Out

Posted: September 23, 2013 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Ephesians 6: 10-20: 10 “Finally, be strong in the Lord, and in the strength of His might. 11 Put on the full armor of God, that you may be able to stand firm against the schemes of the devil. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places. 13 Therefore, take up the full armor of God, that you may be able to resist in the evil day, and having done everything, to stand firm.

14 Stand firm therefore, having girded your loins with truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness, 15 and having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace; 16 in addition to all, taking up the shield of faith with which you will be able to extinguish all the flaming missiles of the evil one. 17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. 18 With all prayer and petition pray at all times in the Spirit, and with this in view, be on the alert with all perseverance and petition for all the saints, 19 and pray on my behalf, that utterance may be given to me in the opening of my mouth, to make known with boldness the mystery of the gospel, 20 for which I am an ambassador in chains; that in proclaiming it I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak.”

Man…for the first time since I’ve started working out again I faced a day (Wednesday, Sep 18, 2013) that I literally didn’t feel like working out.

All day I was tired, listless, and I must admit that the thought crossed my mind not to go to the gym…but then I remembered that the devil is a liar and that after a year and a half of not being able to work out that it was not only a privilege to better this “temple” but that I was doing it for the Lord, which will result as it always do when I do things unto Him, to my betterment.

So I got off of my “blessed assurance”, went on to the gym, put the work in, and “lo and behold” it was one of the BEST workouts that I can ever remember.

Halfway through the workout it literally felt like God was surging through every vessel in my body and my praise for Him knowing that I didn’t give in to the enemy and/or my flesh was awesome and prepared me for church service immediately afterword.

I was still basking in His presence with me from the gym later on that night at church as I listened to Pastor Adam preach in our youth service that there were some days that he didn’t necessarily “feel like” praying or reading the “Word” as he normally does when God through this incredible man of God showed me the spiritual component of my earlier workout that I had failed to see as I strained under the totality of the weight and cardio that I challenge myself with daily (Note: The scripture reference above was the basis for the teaching that Pastor Adam preached on as part of the “Fight Club” series that we are going through in our youth services).

Pastor Adam said on the days that he didn’t feel like praying or reading that he was then able to draw upon the daily discipline that he’d established or “built up” to help him get through those times that he didn’t “feel” like doing what he knows he needs to do to stay in God’s presence and it was a direct correlation to the physical lesson that I had learned earlier in the day as I drew upon the discipline from my habitual workout regimen with an energized drink of God’s living water to break past a mental barrier that I was allowing to take root that could possibly take hold and take me back to where I was (in an unhealthy lifestyle cycle) just a few, short weeks ago.

Thank you God for this lesson and I pray that this reminder will help someone who is looking at that gym bag and thinking “maybe I should take the day off”, or maybe it’s for the person that is supposed to work out for lunch today that is thinking of putting it off for whatever reason, or maybe it’s for the person that had the day all planned out to eat right but is now weakening in the confidence that they can do it.

Whatever the situation we invite You into it sweet Jesus and we beseech You for the strength and the courage to fight the battle because You have already fought and won the war for us.

We love and honor you with our commitment to be healthier for You today our God!

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

