My “Kroger” Conundrum (How God Used Me To Deliver A Word In “Due Season” To Someone At The Grocery Store)

Posted: September 24, 2013 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Man it’s good when you hear God’s voice and in obedience speak a word into an unsuspecting soul’s life!!!!!

It was a normal Saturday night and I was watching the Alabama versus Colorado State college football game and all of a sudden I felt the real need for something sweet but since my “cheat day” was tomorrow (Sunday) I quickly pushed the idea out of my head.

The need to go to the store became overwhelming and I should’ve knew that it was God but you know how sometimes you’re doing something and become so distracted that you love doing….well Alabama and all college football is that for me (yes I know and God has grown me in this area and will still even more).

So to stop the feeling I decided to go ahead and go to the store since I needed a few things from it anyway but it did strike me as weird that I was supposed to go at halftime of the game instead of waiting until the game was over but I “paused” the game and went on (I love technology).

Even weirder is that the things that I needed I could’ve easily gotten from the Dollar General Store right down the street but instead I felt the need to go to the Kroger which was a bit farther away and even though I’m probably the most gas-conscience person in history I relented to this desire to get my stuff from Kroger so I proceeded to get in my truck and go to the store.

I got to the store and got the items I needed but then I had a strange urging to get some coffee from the Starbucks inside the store and despite having great coffee at my house and for some reason I got past my normally…ummmm….cheap, I mean frugal nature I decided to get some to enjoy as I drove home and to sip on as I finished watching the TIDE ROLL!!!!

So I got the coffee, paid for it, and started to leave the store but as soon as I got to the entrance these two young ladies walked by and all of a sudden I felt God speak into my spirit to go and tell the one on the left that was a bit overweight that “He loved her, that she was so beautiful to Him, that He has great plans for her, and that He sees more beauty in her than she sees when she dreads to step in front of the mirror because of her weight issues.”

Now I’m a normally bold, man of God and I normally have little or no problem stepping out in faith except when it comes to messing with women about their weight…it can get you killed or at least beat up or seriously verbally abused!

But being the ever-more obedient servant that I’ve become over the years I turned my buggy around and began to search for the two young ladies but they were nowhere in sight. So I thought “well, maybe it wasn’t God after all” and breathed a sigh of relief as I began to turn back around and head out of the door.

Just then, I saw the little young lady that was with the other young lady that God gave me a message to give and I knew that I had to stay there and give her that message but still the doubt was there if I had heard from God at all…so I waited.

I continued to wait for a little while and after some time I figured that maybe she might have slipped out of the store or was in the store shopping and I again started to rationalize that maybe it wasn’t God after all and I really didn’t want to create a scene but I did want to be obedient to God (just in case it WAS Him) so I stayed in the “flower” section of the store that I was in when I started noticing the flowers and again I felt the impression from God that He wanted me to tell the young lady that she was beautiful and fragrant to Him just like these beautiful flowers.

Now you must know and my wife will confirm that I am not a “flowery” type dude as I feel that flowers and all of that type stuff is “womany” stuff that I only mess with when I want to get out of trouble with my wife or being the good and awesome husband that I am…something that I do just to show my wife that she’s special (and he shoots and he scores…”holla”!).

So now knowing this about ‘your boy” you understand that it was weird for me to be standing in the “flower” section looking at and smelling flowers so I knew that it MUST be GOD!…but…the girl was nowhere to be found so again I figured that maybe it wasn’t God and that it could be just one of those situations where God was testing me to see if I was going to be obedient and follow through on the search (which has happened before..He loves messing with me!).

So I decided since I couldn’t find the young lady that I would leave the store and I figured that if God wanted me to truly give this message to her that He would indeed make it happen so I started to leave the store because I had already been there an extra 15 to 20 minutes longer than I thought I was going to be and I needed to get back and watch the TIDE ROLL!!!!!!!!!

Next came a series of events that in retrospect and that I would figure out later that would confirm that this incident was truly from God and again in retrospect I can laugh at how God likes messing with me because we have a loving relationship and I appreciate being messed with as part of my personality (that He gave me) is…well…messing with people (LOL!!) so I appreciate a good ribbing especially when it comes from the King of the Universe!

First, as I was leaving the store my “strong, tall, and black” coffee (just as I told the lady in Starbucks when she asked me how I liked it) flipped from its holder directly into my basket with all of my stuff but strangely it didn’t make much mess but it did slow me down and for a split second I thought “maybe God wants me to go back”…but I shrugged my shoulders and went onto my truck where again I had that feeling that I was supposed to speak with that young lady.

Secondly, as I got into my car I said “okay God, why don’t you make it clear what I’m supposed to do? and then I said “well, you’re big enough to make it right if I missed this appointment and I trust you to do it so I have no condemnation since you’ll never condemn me”…so I cranked up the vehicle and proceeded to leave.

As I began to pull out I again got that “feeling” and instead of turning left to go home I turned right and drove down in front of the store to the other end of the parking lot into the parking lot of the stores at the end of the row and finally (and a bit frustrated I must confess) I said “God, if this is truly you and not my imagination then that girl will walk out of the front door by Starbucks (no less) after I turn my truck around and drive back past the store!”

Well, as you can probably guess no sooner than I had turned my car around and started driving back in front of the store the two young ladies proceeded to exit the store right in front of me and I thought (really!!! seriously!!!! I know that you like to mess with me but dang!!!” and then I let out a huge belly laugh as I pulled into the parking lot across from them and got out to deliver the message to the young lady.

Now I’m well aware that as a 280 pound, big, semi-muscular, black dude that I can be a bit overwhelming as I come towards people especially in a parking lot at night so I put my best “hey, I’m not a threat. I’m just a man that has a message from God for you face on” and proceeded to deliver the good message that I had from Him to her with the knowledge that she may not receive it but now that I knew that it was for sure from God my earlier doubts had been replaced with the normal boldness that I normally have so I approached them with a “hey young lady, do you believe in God?”

She said “yes I do” and her friend said “yep, me too”.

So I stopped a distance away from them just to ensure that they knew that I wasn’t being a creep and also for accountability purposes because the parking lot had a number of people in it and said “I know that this may sound strange but since you believe in God maybe it won’t but God spoke a word into my heart for you and I wanted to share it if I may”.

She of course said that I could so I identified myself, my church affiliation, and I stayed back just far enough that she could hear me and I spoke to her what God spoke into my heart for her about how beautiful she was to Him” and about the “great plans that He had for her” and I asked her “does that mean something to you?”

She said “are you trying to make me cry in the middle of the parking lot” to which we all laughed and I said “try being a big, black dude in a parking lot at a grocery store trying to deliver a message from God to someone and you tell me who should be crying!” to which we again all “cracked up” in laughter.

She then let me know that it indeed was a word in due season and that it meant a lot to her and I could tell that there was more depth behind her face on it and that God had definitely changed her with this simple message and I’m glad that He didn’t let me leave without giving it to her.

Lastly, as I thanked them for obliging me and as I turned around to leave God impressed upon me to turn back around to the other little young lady who was a bit downcast because her friend had received a message from God and had me tell her “oh yeah, (her name) God said that He loves you too!” to which she “leapt” for joy and I then left feeling that the mission was completed but flying high from the awesome experience.

Praise God that He is patient with me and that He knows that I’m not always the quickest to respond but that I am always listening and searching for His voice to encourage others as well as to receive it for myself.

I love you sweet Jesus and to all that took the time to read this lengthy account (and even those that “skimmed” through it or didn’t read it at all) have a Jesus-filled day!

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Comments
  1. This is very awesome. You truly changed that woman’s perspective of herself, by being obedient to the Lord and letting him use you for that purpose and his glory. There were many days, I would have loved to hear God speak to me through you. You’re blessing.
    God gives us many gifts, and hearing his voice and obeying him is one of the many gifts he has. I too have heard God’s voice. I wrote a book called “In Due Season: we will hear God’s voice.”
    If you’re interested in checking it out here is a link to it.

    http://www.mycinsay.com/c/we-will-hear-gods-voice/inspirational-book

Leave a Reply

