Finally I can say….”It’s Okay If My Children Turn Out Like Me”

Posted: October 22, 2013 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Proverbs 22:6 (NIV): Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.

Philippians 4:9 (ESV): “What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.”

Ephesians 6:4 (ESV): “Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.”

John 3:16 (ESV): “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.”

Ephesians 6:1-24 (ESV): “Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. “Honor your father and mother” (this is the first commandment with a promise), “that it may go well with you and that you may live long in the land.” Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord.”

One of the things that I used to always say was that I wished that my kids would grow up to be better than and not like me especially when I was on that highway to eternal death before giving my life to Jesus Christ.

God brought this back to this remembrance and mindset in one of my quiet times with Him a short, while ago and I felt in my spirit that He was asking me the question, “how do you feel about that statement today?”

I pondered this question for a moment, reflected on it for a while, thought about it at length, and the conclusion that I finally came to was that I am proud to say that despite my flaws, despite my failings, despite my disobedience to God’s word and His calling on my life (at times), and despite that in some areas I still am learning to love and forgive myself for all of the above I can proudly and honestly say that I hope that my children will turn out (in love for Christ) like me.

I say this with humbleness knowing that it is because I live as Holy of a life that I can at the level of grace that I’ve accepted from God fully knowing that each day I am growing in my walk with Him and that He is my sole source of happiness, joy, peace, and salvation.

I am a better man, better husband, better friend, better co-worker, better father, better son, and better leader because of my relationship with God. It is because of this relationship and my wanton desire to be obedient to Him at the risk of ridicule by this ever-increasingly “evil world” and because of my great love for His word (and His Holy Spirit) that I am able to live the “abundant life” and I as a parent patiently pray that they (my children) will constantly desire the same no matter the cost as they grow closer in their relatinship with God.

Knowing all of my shortcomings I am awestruck at how God chooses to use me for His Kingdom yet I am also fully aware of my identity in Christ and it is this awareness…the awareness that I am a prince and a co-heir to the throne with Jesus that I pray for my children to fully recognize as their heritage for it is the eternal gift of God that aches in every persons soul until Christ becomes Savior and Lord of their lives.

If my children develop a close, personal relationship with God (and they have praise Him!) they will be fully aware that God is their source of unmitigated power and without Him they have none.

They will realize and be fully aware that without Him there is no hope, without Him there is no joy, without Him there is no peace, and without Him there is no love.

As a parent who has done his best to raise his children in the admonition of the Lord I can say today that I have no reason to fear in them becoming “like me” for if they do they may as I often do lose a skirmish or a battle or two but they will know that they can never lose the war because God has already fought and won it for them when He chose to lower Himself onto that “tree” at Calvary and die horrible, gruesome yet necessary death to save them and me from eternal damnation.

So I praise you today Lord and thank you that you have brought me to such a place that I have the honor to know that it is because of “the You” that resides in me that I can finally say that I would be honored if my kids grew up to be just like me!

Thank you Sweet Jesus for letting me in on this piece of “growth” that I never would’ve noticed had you not brought it to my attention!

Your eternal servant,

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

