John 14:12: “I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father.

David and Ruth are two of the great characters that are mentioned within the pages of the Bible that I’ve ever had the pleasure of getting to know.

They have been there for me, they’ve encouraged me, lovingly corrected me, and have always been a spiritual beacon of light that I could focus on that always pointed back to our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ that kept me on the path towards a better and more fulfilling relationship with God.

Now I know what you’re thinking…”this idiot has lost his mind, there’s no way that he’s ever met the David and Ruth that’s spoken of in the Bible!.”

Well, if I were talking about “the David and Ruth” that are so revered within the pages of the Holy texts you would be right but no, I’m not speaking of them.

I’m speaking of the “David and Ruth” that embodies the words by our Lord Jesus in the verse above (John 14:12) and that “David and Ruth” are Pastors David and Ruth Nelson who are two of the type of people who Jesus was speaking of  in this passage of scripture.

Pastors David and Ruth Nelson (The Rock Family Worship Center) are very affectionately known as “Pastor Dad and Pastor Mom” because they are the parents of our Senior Pastor Rusty Nelson and are the very example of the type of “believers” that our Lord Jesus was speaking of.

If you need encouragement they will encourage you.

If you need correction they lovingly will do it.

If you need healing they’re hands are more than capable of providing a touch from the Lord be it physical or spiritual.

They do “all of these things and even greater” because of the Spirit of Jesus that flows within their veins and they freely, reverently, respectfully, and joyfully serve the Lord in all that they do thus being an example for all to see and all the while not afraid to show that they are not “holier than thou” while doing it.

One of the first persons to give me a hug when I first came to the church was Pastor Dad and though he didn’t know it I was still reeling from the loss of my grandfather when I first arrived at the church and when he hugged me what he probably thought it was a simple greeting to a new perspective member but in fact it was truly more than hug to me it was like getting a hug from my grandfather and God knew that I needed that type of hug right at that moment in my life or I maybe would’ve continued on the dark path that I was on at the time.

Now I would never say that Pastor Ruth is a “grandmother type” to me because she looks much too young to be my grandmother but also because I’m not stupid because I’ve heard stories from Pastor Rusty and Pastor Greg about how she “ruled the roost” with a loving, iron fist so I’ll just simply postulate to her being very instrumental in my walk so that I won’t get my tail “whooped” instead of trying to put any type of “age” reference to her. (LOL!!!!)

Pastor Ruth was one of the people who God placed before me as He (Jesus) shoved me into youth ministry (yep, I said it! “shoved” kicking and screaming!).

As I recall one stormy night I had come down to Royal Rangers to look for a kid (now who is my son) that rode on the church bus who I hadn’t heard from for some time because they didn’t have a telephone and since he was. Royal Ranger I decided to check there first.

As I entered the section of the church that housed Royal Rangers Pastor Ruth was sitting in a room with six of our kids who were causing chaos when her son Pastor Greg gave me the whole “do you believe in divine appointment?” speech that had me “balling” like a 290 pound, “Big Black” baby because I knew (and she and God knew) that though I didn’t want to work with kids that it was where God wanted me and where I needed to be.

Pastor Ruth was always there to encourage me as I took the baby steps into youth ministry and now years later as I look back on the many times that I wanted to quit I can remember that at times I was more afraid to let her down than I sometimes was in letting God down but God knew my respect for her and knew that through her he could grow me and God wasn’t offended at my being more afraid of letting her down because it was HE that gave me Her to do HIS work and He knew that He could use my respect for authority (and “motherly” ladies) to use Pastor Ruth to soften my often, hard heart.

So because of them…this great man and woman of God…I’ve grown into a person who loves the Lord with all of his heart, mind, and soul and there is no greater place in the church in my eyes to serve than in youth ministry and it was these beautiful souls among the many others as I’ve journeyed on my walk with the Lord that God has skillfully used to transform me into the man of God that I am today.

I’m sure that many of you share my sentiments that Pastors Mom and Dad have been a shining light for God’s Kingdom in your lives as they have mine so I urge you to honor them with the thanks that often go unspoken for those that do “work” for the Lord and in doing so you will be honoring these beautiful spirits that he has placed into so many of our lives to grow us.

Lastly, Pastor Mom and Pastor Dad I honor you, I thank you, I love you, and I am grateful that God placed you both in my path when I needed the stability in my spirit that I at those times did not know how to glean from him.

I will always have your backs just as you have had mine and I love you “Grandpa” and “Mother” or “older sister” (I’m still not stupid!)

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Comments
  1. Ruth Nelson says:

    Thanks Bro. Ron you are a blessing to so many people. We pray that we may reflect the Master more and more and that we can live up to how you feel about us. God Bless!!!

  2. Rusty Nelson says:

    Hey Ron, this is OVERWHELMING to me!!! Thank you for the HONOR you walk in! I’m so thankful we share mutual Heroes and even a Spiritual Dad & Mom! I Love and Honor u my Friend! Pastor Rusty

    • Thank you dear Pastor! Your family has done so much for us and everyone especially Pastor Mom and Dad for me and my family so when God woke me up with honoring them on my heart I was more than happy and honored that He chose me to put pen to paper (or keys to keyboard) about it. He could’ve chosen anyone else but He chose me and I only represent what soo many that have responded to the post have desired to say about beloved Pastor Mom and Pastor Dad. I Honor U and your “Grace-filled” family who do so much for us all even in the things that we never see and that you only boast in the Lord about that we never hear about. Be blessed dear Pastor and again thank you and your family for all that you do!

Leave a Reply

