He Gives Us The “Desires Of Our Hearts”….Even When It’s “Duck Dynasty”

Posted: December 3, 2013 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

578139_10202689793829160_1458136289_n

1425512_10202689792629130_1257341239_n

1459319_10202689793469151_1772188479_n

1461185_10202689795429200_1051314786_n

1467454_10202689794149168_1689028366_n

1471767_10202689795749208_1693622639_n

1472903_10202689794749183_513864522_n

1474599_10202689798509277_1683756968_n

1486847_10202689793189144_156859456_n

1487333_10202689796189219_715502547_n

Psalm 37:4: (KJV): 4 Delight thyself also in the Lord: and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.

Isn’t it awesome how God, just as a father who truly loves his children often does out of nowhere, give us a surprise that He knows that we weren’t expecting?

We were on our way back from Texas where we had spent one of the best Thanksgivings that I could ever remember celebrating when God in His unmerited favor and grace just decided (I guess) that our having a great Thanksgiving filled with family, football, and all the trappings therein were just not enough for us so He decided to do something else for us that He knew would bless us and cap off an awesome week just because He’s God and He could do it.

As I’ve said, we were on our way back to Alabama from Texas and we decided to leave extra early so that we could make it back home earlier than usual because of some commitments that were coming up this week that we needed to be rested for

So we loaded up the truck (and we moved to Beverly…Hills that is…sorry, I loved that show) and we struck out and headed for “Sweet Home Alabama” along our normal route that we take that takes us through Monroe, Louisiana which is a normal stopping point for us because some of our favorite people live there (Russell and Morgan Moore and their kids) but we knew that due to time constraints and the early hour that we would be hitting Monroe that we probably wouldn’t be seeing them this time on this trip.

As I drove along Tracy and Sarah were soundly sleeping when I decided that I really needed to get some coffee because I hadn’t brought my big thermos that I normally travel with so I didn’t have my “stash” of coffee and really needed to stop and since Monroe was only a few miles away I figured that a quick stop there would fill the bill though as I said it was a bittersweet stop knowing that I was close to my friends who were probably still sound asleep and wouldn’t get to see them but “Java” was calling me so I started looking for an exit as we got closer to Monroe.

Now I need to back up and state that as we passed through Monroe the first time on the way to Texas we saw a few signs that were prominently placed along Interstate Highway 20 that referred to one of our favorite shows “Duck Dynasty” and my daughter Sarah who is probably the biggest fan of all of us (though she would argue…she’s not a bigger fan than me though! LOL!) said “Wouldn’t it be funny if we stopped in West Monroe and got to see the shop?” to which we all laughed because we knew that on this trip unlike the others that we were under the gun for time so we kept on rolling not giving it another thought.

Fast forward back to the trip back home to Alabama and my desire to have some much-needed coffee I knew that I didn’t want a certain brand from one fast food chain but I had this all of a sudden desire to get some from one particular chain which was funny because normally I can drink any kind of coffee except most “gas station” brands.

There were three exits that I had to choose from and since it was “bugging me” to choose this one, particular brand I chose the exit that I saw their sign on yet so I took it, came to a stop at the stop sign but I suddenly had a strong desire to turn right yet I was sure that I needed to go left.

While I pondered this decision for a second my wife and daughter who were waking indicated that they were hungry and were ready for breakfast but as they spoke I again had this strong desire to go right instead of left so I finally took the right yet it looked that there were no restaurants on that end (but a little doughnut shop!) so I immediately and a little frustrated drove down a bit to look for a place to turn around when my wife and daughter noticed a sign above a car wash that had the biggest “Duck Dynasty” logo on it and again they both commented how cool and funny it would be if we could find the shop.

Suddenly their eyes looked below the logo and “LO AND BEHOLD” there it was!!!! The famous “Duck Dynasty” shop that is so familiar to anyone who watches the show was right there and in my excitement my wife had to remind me that I was in fact “turning the car around and not to wreck” trying to get back around to it.

We gleefully made our way over to the shop and there were others who had stumbled upon the shop and were already taking pictures as there were two big trailers with some of the cast members on it so we took pics while we were still befuddled as to how we stumbled upon something that we were so wanting to see. (We even got a pic of the loading dock that they flooded in an episode so that they could practice calling ducks to see who was better at it..LOL!)

It was then that I started realizing that the Holy Spirit in God’s unmerited love had been setting us up from the start of the trip because God knew that it was a desire of our heart to see a piece of a show that has done great things to spread His Name despite the preoccupation in Hollywood to do just the opposite as they (Hollywood) do their best to tear it down.

He later showed me that desire for a certain type of coffee had me looking for a certain exit at a certain time because I would’ve never stopped had that exit been crowded because of my time constraints and I was just grinning from ear to ear because He just does stuff like this to show “us” (His people) that He cares about things and does things for us that we are not even aware that He knows about.

So I pondered this as we finished taking the pics, got back in the car, and started driving the way as we praised God and thanked Him for the opportunity to visit the shop and get pics of something that we so enjoyed on TV when I guess God decided to show us that He’s truly a God of abundance because as we started driving off our thoughts turned back to food and as I scanned the street for eating places I noticed a sign that stood up high that said “Haskell’s Doughnuts” and I turned to my family and said “Hey!! Isn’t that the doughnut shop that they had the doughnut eating contest that Uncle Si won?”

Sarah quickly and excitedly said “YESSSSS!!!” so we quickly pulled over and went inside and the lady that was on that episode that served them was the one that greeted us so instead of the fast food chain that we were going to eat at we decided to eat there at “Haskell’s” where the doughnuts were every bit as good as they indicated on the show and we took pics of the memorabilia that they had from that episode from the show.

As we drove away we knew that it was a “God thang” that got us to enjoy that awesome, family moment and the only thing that would’ve made it better is if my oldest daughter Mariah and her roommates Sarah and Dammone’ had been there because the show was our show of choice on our Thursday family nights that they used to come over for when they lived just a couple of miles up the road from us.

Praise God and we thank you Lord for knowing the desires of our hearts and doing these “little” things that are often “big things” for us!

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

