Santa Claus and Racism…Seriously?

Posted: December 14, 2013 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Galatians 3:28:  “There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.”

2 Corinthians 2:11:  “in order that Satan might not outwit us. For we are not unaware of his schemes.”

John 15:5: “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

It’s sad to me when I see purported “Christians” make excuses for being racist while accusing others of racism.  I’m speaking of this whole idea of whether or not Santa is white or black or the other.

You who argue over this show your racism and ignorance at how the enemy is using your divisive ways to do his bidding instead of God’s because WHAT DIFFERENCE DOES IT MAKE?

Whether or not Santa is white, black or “other is irrelevant because the only true thing worth debating is whether or not a person that you know or have met is going to burn in hell or not…anything else including your desire to debate race and make everything racial at every turn is once again in the vein of importance…irrelevant.

I being a black man am fully aware that there are racists out there yet I opt to do what Christ would have me do when confronted with racism and that is to pray to God and ask Him how I may pray for them or reach them for Him through me (and it is tough sometimes I admit but getting easier as I grow in Him).

Also, having experienced racism myself and having seen it perpetrated upon people who I love I know how easily the unrecognizable seeds of hate can fill what should be blood vessels reserved for the blood of Christ up with blood that has evil “hate” cells in it that belongs to satan that he disguises as “concern” or “what is right” or “justice” yet I choose to not dwell on those experiences yet utilize them to allow God to show me how HE desires me to handle my past experiences, present ones, and future ones so that they may bring HIM glory instead of putting in “work” for the enemy.

This may not be an easy or popular road especially in the “black community” (as I’ve found out) because it flies in the face of what our children are being taught that is “anti” Christ which  is often to hate and not love those that are guilty of the sinful act of racism…funny…this is one of the concrete principles that Dr. King in fighting racism tried to practice!

So know that if you as a “Christian” are participating in the acts of accusing someone of racism just because someone else said it or they said something that you didn’t agree with or because your “mamma ‘nem” said that they are…know that you are acting in a way that is consistent with the chief accuser of the brethren because and the Bible clearly tells us that acting in this way is consistent with how he (the devil) behaves.

Lastly, lets say that you meet someone whom you fully know and have no doubt about him/her being racist…I ask you, how would our Lord respond to someone of this character?

We already have His response on record within the letters of the Holy texts because He loved those who were against our race (we as Christians are of the race of God and not black, white, or “other) who tortured Him, crucified Him, hung Him on a “tree” (the cross), spit on Him, called Him all sorts of names, debased Him, and eventually killed Him.

Not once do we hear or see of Him taking the opportunity to curse those that were against His race but He chose to love them, honor them before the father, pray for them, and yes die for them yet we…black folk, white folk, and the other even within the body of Christ continue to make excuses and behave like satan when pressed on issues of “race” when Christ died for ALL of us irrespective of the beautiful skin color that He has blessed each of us with.

Are you going to let your black, white, or “other” pride get in the way of doing what is right?  How are you going to answer Jesus when He asks you why you acted like a devil and rode along with popular and taught sentiment instead of behaving like He asked us to in His word when confronted with these type of issues? (Make no mistake He will ask!)

Are you going to continue to let the devil use you to stay divisive, derisive, and submissive to him or are you willing to let God cleanse you of this “anti” Christ-like behavior?

“As for me and my house we will serve the Lord” and I choose to give no quarter to satan so I choose to love those that hate me even when the world is calling on me to join in their chorus of disdain for those that are simply led astray from Jesus if they have racist hearts.

I choose and will always choose the Lord and instead of bashing I will pray. Instead of hating I will pray.

Instead of gossiping, backbiting, slandering, and arguing about these things I will pray and when I lose the fortitude to simply pray I will choose to love not because the ones that are offending me deserve it but because I choose to honor Christ because He did the same for me when I didn’t deserve His love but He chose to save my sorry hide anyway.

Get off of the racism train dear brothers and sisters and choose to NOT let satan use you anymore to fight his fight!

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

