Tolerance Goes Both Ways

Posted: December 24, 2013 in Articles, Constitution, Freedom, Liberty, Politics, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

As I folded clothes that I had washed earlier I turned on the television for a second to watch something to kill the time as I did the chore. 

When the set came on the “Dr. Oz” show was on and since I like some of the subject matter concerning health issues I did not change the channel and proceeded to watch what the “good doc’ and his guest had to say. 

As I listened on and off  as I completed the task of finishing up folding and putting away the clothes I started realizing that the guest was into “chakra” healing which in Hindu metaphysical and tantric/yogic traditions and other belief systems are points or knots, in the subtle human body that as a Christian I do not believe in nor would I subscribe to or practice. 

Yet, as I went about my business and IGNORED what the guest was saying the thought came across my mind that I as a Christian who had some offense at the idea of “chakra” being spoken about could do as the “free speech police” and “tolerant-intolerants” often do and protest the Dr. Oz show because I was in some way offended by the topic because I disagreed with it as a Christian.  

I could’ve gotten a bunch of my “Christian” friends together which could then be organized into groups which could then be backed by the numerous churches across the country into a force that could boycott the Dr. Oz show for offending a man who values and tries daily to live by his Christian beliefs that have been offended.  

This made me laugh because if I did this then I would be the very thing that I abhor (a free speech policeman) but I chuckled because it was at least food for thought and maybe if we Christians started doing this type of thing on a massive scale then those that try to limit our free speech rights would stop for fear that “the many” (which BTW are Christians in this country) would dictate to “the minority” (which is every other religion in this country).

I would never do this because unlike the so-called “tolerant” people in groups that support ideals that emanate from the LBGT groups like GLAAD and others that associate themselves with the NAACP (who shout down black folk that disagree with them) and environmental activists I value free speech and instead of trying to suppress others right to it that are protected under the Constitution I will and have fought to protect it even under the threat of possibly losing my life (which a lot of the people who ridiculously protest others free speech rights have never done).  

Just because I hear ideals that are different from mind does not make them a threat to what I believe and because of what He has done for me I believe that no man, woman, child, group (to include my family) has the proverbial chance in….ummmm… “hades” of changing my mind about believing, serving, and following my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.  

If these folk believe in what they believe in is so strongly and they so assuredly believe in it then they should be able to do as I did when confronted with what I view as “untrue” because of my beliefs that are contrary to the beliefs of whomever is bringing the idea before me and simply walk away, turn the channel, not support the group, the person, or the idea which is exactly what the founders intended when the Constitution was drafted and ratified.  

We also have the right to group together and boycott if we also desire just as many of the groups that I’ve spoken of often do but the rub is that they get all offended when their beliefs offend the ones that they are offended with and they are similarly protested against as a “push-back” and then they act all “wounded” and victimized….you cannot have it both ways.  

Lastly, I suggest that we all look out for things that are evil and confront them yet the Bible gives me no quarter to “thump” people “up side tha head” with my beliefs but to let them make their own decision on whether or not to follow Jesus and this is what most Christians do but we also are tired of people trying to force us to believe something other than what we believe. 

We all need to work on as my faith teaches me “loving one another” as our Savior (Jesus) teaches us (this is my belief just to point out it’s relevance to the discussion).    

If you don’t subscribe to my faith then simply love the next person as you would yourself  and knowing what you know about yourself you would be more sensitive to what someone else was going through if it was you and you had said knowledge (dang, I can’t get away from His (Jesus’) words). 

This is why Christians are often pushed around…not because we are “soft” or apathetic as most think, it is because we try to mind our own business, serve our God they way He deserves to be served, and love others the best that we can as we continue our growth in spirit to our Lord Jesus Christ.  

So thank you for reading this, may God bless you, and know that I’m praying for you even if you do not believe (it’s quite okay).  

If you don’t like that then you never have to ever read this piece again but when we meet know that I love you and I pray that we can agree to disagree. 

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

 

Comments
  1. lamehousewife says:

    Merry Christmas! I have enjoyed reading your blog this year. God bless…

Leave a Reply

