“Master, to whom would we go?”

Posted: March 7, 2014 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , ,

John 6: verses 53-54: 53 Jesus said to them, “Very truly I tell you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you. 54 Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise them up at the last day.

John 6: verses 60-61: 60 On hearing it, many of his disciples said, “This is a hard teaching. Who can accept it?” 61 Aware that his disciples were grumbling about this, Jesus said to them, “Does this offend you?

John 6: verses 66-68: 66 From this time many of his disciples turned back and no longer followed him. 67 “You do not want to leave too, do you?” Jesus asked the Twelve. 68 Simon Peter answered him, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. 69 We have come to believe and to know that you are the Holy One of God.”

“Master, to whom would we go?” This is the crux of our walk with God.

Where else would we go if we tired of living for and serving Christ?

Who else would or could we run to once we became a believer and a follower?

Who or what else is capable of saving us from hell, death, and the grave?

Even if we wanted to we who believe in Jesus couldn’t go anywhere else because once we know God’s truth there isn’t a place on this earth that He created that we can hide from it.

Once we know Him His truth is always with us…it’s with us when we wake up, it’s with us when we go to sleep, it’s with us when we do good, it’s with us when we sin, and it’s with us when we’re happy, sad, grieved, angry, or joyful.

We just simply cannot get away from Jesus no matter how hard we try…but you can, if you choose to, deny Him.

You can…to your own eternal peril reject Him.

You can…if you foolishly decide to choose death over life and turn away from God but you will always be faced with the truth and that is that He is what His word says He is, He does what His word says He does, and He is the Son of God who came down from Heaven, put on a robe of human flesh, and willingly offered Himself as a ransom sacrifice for anyone that chooses to accept Him as Lord and Savior of their life.

Now to the person who has not yet given their life to Christ this knowledge can baffle them and make life seem hopeless or devoid of a choice to live or die…yet to the believer the choice is really no choice at all and what the non-believer looks to as a forced choice to accept life over death to the believer the choice is a joyful one because as we are led by God’s Holy Spirit the believer has the knowledge that all things exist because of Him, we were never our own anyway, and that we were created to praise and worship Him in joyous celebration for all eternity!

The believer in Christ does not look at not having any other choice of a place to go other than Christ as some dreaded “non-option” but he/she is thankful that they cannot even fathom a choice besides Jesus because without Him they would face an eternity of damnation and darkness devoid of His perfect love which is the only true despair if one knows and recognizes the truth.

There is nothing else that can bring the peace that comes with a life given to Christ.

There is no one else that can love like Christ loves us.

There is nothing else that can provide us with the hope that we find in a life filled with Christ.

So today (please join in with me if you wish) as I declare!!!

Sweet Jesus…even if I had another place to go, even if I had another option, and even if there was another choice that I could choose for my soul to be destined…I wouldn’t bat an eye or let my heart skip one beat before I chose you.

You are life and I only want what you have to give.

You are the beauty that I long to bathe in.

You are my drink and I am filled to the brim of my cup and cannot thirst.

You are my meat and my stomach is filled with your word so I never hunger.

You are my love and my only desire is to love others as you have loved me.

Thank you O’ Lord for even taking note of your servant who in truth is not even worthy of your acknowledgement as I kneel before your greatness in awe and adoration.

I worship you and you alone for only you are worthy of it.

I praise and thank you for who you are and not just for what you do!

I love you and I choose to walk with you forever and I am glad that I am yours and you are mine!

Thank you and I will enjoy the rest of this incredible day that you have made just because you made it!

I stand in agreement with my brothers and sisters as we say to the rest of the world….Have a Jesus-filled day!!

By the hand of your eternal servant,

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

