Pray For Wisdom So That Your Prayer Life Can Be More Effective

Posted: March 13, 2014 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , ,

Prayer, be it individually or corporate as followers of Christ is one of the most important things that we can do.

However, we must strive to make our prayers more effective and too many of us pray selfish prayers centered on our desires, our wants, our schemes, our plans, instead of God’s desires or plans and even further these self-absorbed prayers are often devoid of any praise or thanks to God for who He is or what He has done for us.

The Bible gives us perfect models for how we should pray and make no mistake about it God hears each and every prayer that we pay yet too often when our prayers will take us down the wrong road we lose patience when seemingly He isn’t answering them when in fact we SHOULD be thankful that He doesn’t always answer our prayers the way we want Him to answer them because they could lead to unnecessary angst, pain, hurt, or confusion….and He in His infinite wisdom and love for us doesn’t desire that for us.

Instead, we as brothers and sisters in the faith would be well served to look at our brother Solomon and the prayer that he prayed to God upon inheriting the Kingdom of Israel from his father David in 2 Chronicles 1 verses 7-12 which reads:

2 Chronicles 1 verses 7-12: 7 That night God appeared to Solomon and asked, “What would you like me to give you?” 8 Solomon answered, “You always showed great love for my father David, and now you have let me succeed him as king. 9 O Lord God, fulfill the promise you made to my father. You have made me king over a people who are so many that they cannot be counted, 10 so give me the wisdom and knowledge I need to rule over them. Otherwise, how would I ever be able to rule this great people of yours?” 11 God replied to Solomon, “You have made the right choice. Instead of asking for wealth or treasure or fame or the death of your enemies or even for long life for yourself, you have asked for wisdom and knowledge so that you can rule my people, over whom I have made you king. 12 I will give you wisdom and knowledge. And in addition, I will give you more wealth, treasure, and fame than any king has ever had before or will ever have again.”

You see, while it is a part of our birthright as born-again followers of Christ to ask for anything in prayer…God desires us to grow in Spirit to the point that we pray less and less prayers from our own selfish point of view and more and more from His perfect one for more of the things that concern His desires by the leading of our awesome friend His Holy Spirit.

Praying for God to grant us wisdom in any given situation instead of praying a more selfish prayer sets us as believers up to be more like God in our response to every situation and THEN enables us to pray more effective prayers because we then are allowing our lips to be moved by the Holy Spirit instead of them being moved by our often easily corruptible hearts or minds.

For example…when we pray for and gain the pure wisdom that only God can grant us instead of just praying for a marriage to be fixed a more wise prayer may be for God to first fix our own corruptible heart (before asking Him to “work” on our spouses’) and how we can serve our spouse more as Jesus would serve him/her which I’ve found is a much better catalyst for resolving issues in a marriage (when properly applied) than most other marital remedies that are out there.

This seems contradictory because it seems that this type of prayer is a bit selfish but when we pray to be more like Jesus in dealing with our spouses we can then show them the same unmerited grace and mercy that Christ has shown us and THEN there is little room left for “self” to enter the equation and even less of a chance for the enemy to swoop in and steal, kill, or destroy our covenant relationship.

When BOTH spouses are practicing this type of “Christ-like” behavior it really takes some doing to allow any covenant relationship to be torn apart by our flesh or the enemy’s schemes.

Let’s pray:

Father, I thank you for all that you have done for me and I pray that you forgive me of my sins both the fully known and the unintentional.

I thank you that you gave your beautiful Son as a ransom for my sins and I pray that you bless me in all that I do today but before any blessing I pray like my brother Solomon that you grant me by the leading of your Holy Spirit your eternal wisdom to all that I put my mind, heart, and soul to today on this great day that you have made.

I further pray that you convict my heart when you are trying to provide that wisdom and I ignore or abuse it so that it may be planted as perfect seed in my heart that will germinate, take root, and blossom into incorruptible fruit that will bring honor and glory to your precious name.

I love you, I praise you, I honor you, and I lay down my life bare and opaquely without visual hinderance so that you may see all of me, all of my heart, and all that I am and I know that I can trust you to fix all of me as you see fit as I continue to walk down your destined path towards perfection in Jesus Christ.

All of this I ask in your precious Son Jesus Christ’s Holy name I pray,

Amen

By the hand of your humble servant,

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

