Everyone needs a little “Silcox” in their lives

Posted: April 1, 2014 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , ,

I have been blessed by God to have had many people to pour into mine and my family’s lives and while each and every one of them are important to me there have been some that have such explosive impact on my faith that I am loathe to think of where I would be without God allowing them to mentor me as I sought a closer walk with Him.

From Pastor Rusty and Pastor Leisa Nelson, Pastor Greg and LaQuita Nelson,¬†Pastor Steve and Susan Sharp, Pastor Dave and Gina Melendez, Pastor David and Debbie Looper, Pastor Rhines and Carl Varette as well as the rest of our Pastoral and leadership staff (The list is a long one of our Pastors who have groomed me as I’ve grown) to the Urban (Royal) Ranger commanders, the security team staff, and especially all of the youth ministries that I’ve served in whom all have been invaluable and used by God to point me in the right direction towards the growth that He intends for me to attain as well as to provide me the backbone of strength that I sorely lacked growing up as a kid back in the small town of Lufkin in East Texas (If I left anyone out I apologize but you know my heart).

Undoubtedly, as I continue to write, I probably will write something on each and every one of the people who God has blessed me with to help me navigate through this “life walk” that I currently find myself in but as I said there are some that so poignantly stick out in my mind and one of those families is the “Silcox” family stewarded by none other than a “mountain of a man of God” (In my and many others eyes) Brother Curtis Silcox, his strong Matriarch Mrs. Paula Silcox, and most importantly Pastors Scott and Britt Silcox without whom I never would’ve had the honor to meet any of the “Silcox” clan.

The very fact that you are able to read what I’m writing today is because God decided to use a “Silcox” (Pastor Curtis) to lay hands on me during a youth camp some five or six years ago and in doing so Brother Curtis prayed over me and released a desire to put words and thoughts to paper, Facebook, and eventually this blog so you wouldn’t even be reading this writing if it wasn’t for a “Silcox”.

Watching how Mrs. Paula Provides guidance and support to Pastor Curtis and the rest of their clan…and in knowing the character that my brother Pastor Scott is how strong of a mother she MUST have had to be (and still has to be to keep him in line) to raise him as well as the inspiration that she has undoubtedly given to many a sister in the faith including my wife who I can honestly say would’ve missed valuable inspiration if it wasn’t for a “Silcox”.

In fact much of what many of you hear or see that is happening in our lives is a direct result that God chose a “Silcox” to pour into, challenge us, correct us, inspire us, or simply by just being there if He hadn’t chosen to place so many important parts of our faith development in the hands of a “Silcox”.

I’m a better man, husband father, and friend because of the example of a “Silcox”, my wife is a better woman, mother, and friend because of a “Silcox”, my children’s lives have been enriched because God chose to bless us with a “Silcox”, we probably wouldn’t be elders in the church were it not for the challenge to do so and the encouragement of the “Silcox’s”, and I personally don’t know if I would’ve ever truly would’ve trusted myself to love others outside of my family if not for the love that a “Silcox” showed me when I first joined youth ministry which by the way I wouldn’t be a part of if it wasn’t for a “Silcox” (still thanking Pastor Scott and Britt for that one..LOL!!).

This beautiful and God-fearing family much like the proverbial fertilizer to plants have planted in the ground through their obedience to the calling on their lives for God so many people who are now doing the same (via their example) and the fruit that has resulted will continue to proliferate soldiers for Christ’s army for generations to come.

The impact that this family has had and will continue to have for God’s kingdom will be legendary when we stand before God and I can’t wait to witness it and no doubt that there are many who are reading this could testify day and night about how this wonderful family has touched their lives.

Through personal tragedies they have shown us how to be open and honest about the feelings that are associated with such things and as the rest of the world watches we always seem to learn from them how the man, the woman, the family that calls Christ the head of a family can continue to trust and believe in the Lord our God even when our heart is laid low with grief, torment, and pain.

From Pastor Curtis who I told Scott that I have forcibly adopted as a father, to Mrs. Paula Who will always be a sister-figure (too young looking to be a mother-figure), to Pastor Britt who brings so much joy to my wife via her friendship-mentorship (and who used to ride through “the hood” with me on the bus ministry), and to my brother Pastor Scott who has been one of the principle mentors to me in showing me since I gave my life to Christ some nine years ago of how to be a man among the mere men of this world as well as the rest of the “Silcox” clan we praise God for the examples and lessons that you teach us and the love that you show us because of your great love and desire to serve and please Jesus.

So today on this day that God has made I honor the entire Silcox clan before all of my friends, the entire congregation, and most importantly before our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

I don’t have anything that I can give you to repay you for the blessings that you have allowed God to use you to bring to my life so all that I have are the words that Pastor Curtis as commanded by God released through His hands that I can offer to you so I pray that you view this open letter as a small token of my gratitude for what you have done for me, my family, and the countless others that God has blessed through your hands.

I…we love you and pray that you know that we appreciate all that you are, all that you do, and all that you will do for us and I can confidently say that my life would be a lesser one if it were not for a “Silcox”.

By the Hand of God’s eternal servant and for any and everyone who has ever met and/or been blessed by or because of a “Silcox”,

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Comments
  1. Lisa Laree says:

    Yes….definitely.

Leave a Reply

