What do you get for the man who already has everything?

Posted: April 24, 2014 in Articles
Tags: , , , , , ,

I celebrated my forty-seventh birthday yesterday and since I have never been one to really enjoy being fawned over unless it’s for my prowess in power-lifting or sports achievements I patiently made it through the day that was full of birthday well-wishes by family and friends alike…I am grateful to be so loved.

Don’t get me wrong, I am as I said extremely grateful and thankful to have friends and family that wish me well on celebratory events but my wife will tell you that I have not physically celebrated a birthday with a “party” since I was twenty-six years old though I do enjoy celebrating the birthdays of friends and family if they look forward to it.

I figure that since it is my birthday I would rather wait until I can do something that I feel truly celebrates my feelings of relishing the day that the Lord “gifted” the world with the yours truly (lol-ing!!!!) so I only get excited about my birthday when I get to spend the weekend that I celebrate my birthday with my buddies as we attend our yearly ritual of going to the Talladega NASCAR race that normally happens a couple of weeks after my birthday.

I look forward to it because I love the sport of auto-racing, the smells of the fuel and the tires, the excitement of the fans, the mall-like atmosphere of the “hauler” (trailer’s where they sell souvenirs and introduce “sponsored” products), the tail-gaiting, meeting new people from all walks of life from all areas of the globe, and last but not least hanging out with and catching up with my friends who travel from Texas and other states to attend the event.

So you see it’s not that I don’t appreciate the birthday well-wishes, it’s just that I don’t get as excited about that particular day over any other day until I can go and do what I love to do and that is watch a race and hang out with my friends and those of you who love NASCAR know what I’m talking about and those that don’t….I feel sorry for you…you’re missing out (LOL!!!).

Seriously, I want to sincerely thank all of those that wished me well yesterday because I truly appreciate it!

I guess that what I’m truly trying to say here is that the question truly is…”what do you get the man who already has everything?” The answer is that I already have any and everything that a man can ask for (I will accept a cruise from anyone who wishes to gift it to me!).

I have a beautiful and loving wife, beautiful and loving children, beautiful and loving family, beautiful and loving family in Christ, and last but most important I have a relationship with my greatest love of all Jesus Christ which is why I’m so content.

I have been so richly blessed that even the things that seem negative in my life have been trumped by my love for Christ and this knowledge enables me to enjoy life to the fullest by serving God as I serve others and this truly makes me happy because it grows me closer to Christ.

Strangely, Father’s day is a different story! I’ll get riled up if I don’t get “props” for being “Daddy” (LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

I pray that you have a Jesus-filled day and thanks for indulging me as I tried to bring a little humor into my obsession with all things NASCAR!

Leave a Reply

