“Will’s Dad” Episode (Fresh Prince of Bel Air)…(This episode made me face my anger at being abandoned)

Posted: May 16, 2014 in Articles
Tags: , , , , ,

My dad and I now have a relationship and I am so glad that the Lord has blessed me with it and erased much of the pain that I felt as Will Smith’s character showed in this scene.

I remember when this episode was aired and I remembered how much it hurt to see my life, my thoughts, my pain, my hatred, and may anger shown so vividly on television yet none of those around me to include my mother could understand or even feel what I was going through.

God is so good and He turned all of those things that the enemy tried to use to destroy me into something good as it made me the father, the husband, the man-of-God, and the surrogate father that I am today.

As I watch this piece now it of course took me back to my childhood yet now the balance of my focus is what the children that God allows me to minister and be a spiritual father to each day (to include my own) and how I can help them to grow in Christ so that they can forgive their father if one was present yet still not there or if one was like Will’s character and my own life not there for the pain that they endured so that they can utilize it to help others like them if they’ll only allow Christ to deal with the issue/issue’s.

I now have a respectful relationship with my father and I can honestly say that I love him yet I know that because of the love of Christ that is now in me that even if we had never had a relationship that I would’ve forgiven him and that God would’ve did as He is doing now used my painful childhood for His and my own good.

Praise God for being the ultimate Father and I pray for all of those who find themselves in pain as reflected in this video.

Know that you don’t have to live in constant torment, self-doubt, false bravado, or false pride that you don’t need anyone because of what was done to you by an abandoned father (parent).

You don’t have to live in unforgiveness which will only further your pain and lead you down a life of self-destruction.

You don’t have to walk around acting like the abandonment never or no longer affects you by showing so on the outside while knowing that you are crying and dying on the inside because of being abandoned.

No, you don’t have to live with any of this because I’m living proof that God can and will restore you if you allow Him to do so and He will even lead you into His perfect peace that will give you the ability to not only forgive but also pray for the abandoning parent.

Lay all of this at His feet and allow Him to walk you through this and much like Will’s character He may even place an “Uncle Phil” or numerous “Uncle Phil’s” in your life along the way to help you as He did with me.

He loves you and He knows your pain and your anger…even towards Him, tell Him about it…He can deal with it!

Allow Jesus to weave His basked of love around you and It will warm and comfort you until it penetrates your whole heart and pierces your very soul as it heals you from the inside out!

Be blessed and have a Jesus-filled day and weekend!

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Comments
  1. Wayne Benson says:

    Powerful, Ron.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Thank you dear Pastor! (you are one of my “Uncle Phil’s). Pastor Rusty is as well and I ran into another one (Pastor Bill and Deanna) at dinner as we celebrated Sarah’s graduation at dinner Tuesday evening. I’m thankful for the mentors that God has blessed me with as I continue to grow in Him and that I am becoming one myself.

      Thank you sir and be blessed!

      Ron

Leave a Reply

