“Miley” Or Other “Celebrities” Like Her Are NOT The “Celebrities” That I Celebrate

Posted: June 19, 2014 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I have rarely and next to never been that enamored with those who others put up as “celebrities” or “stars” as more important than myself…and that was even before I gave my life to Christ.

I am even less given into the celebration of “celebrity” now than ever because I realize “Who’s I am”, who I am, and what I am…a son of the living God.

Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate the talents and gifts that many of those who excel in the arts of singing, acting, or sports (etc.) but I’ve always had this notion in my head that I was destined for “greatness” even when as Stevie Wonder would sing in his famous song “looking back on when I was a little nappy headed boy”.

I now know that back then, even before I was “saved” that this was the Holy Spirit speaking to me and letting me know that I was “bought for a price”.

Since then I have given my life to Jesus and have since come to the knowlege that I am of ultimate, noble heritage in being a co-heir to the throne of the “Creator and King of the universe” which in turn makes me a prince among princes and princesses-in-Christ Jesus which makes these that we have given the name “celebrity” or “star” pale in comparison to the royal heritage that we that are part of God’s family have inherited from God through Christ Jesus.

So again, please excuse me if I don’t get all “ramped up” when speaking about the latest exploits of the latest celebrity happenings or swoon over the idea of “hob-knobbing” with the latest “star” that happens to be in close proximity to me or my city.

I’m much more enamored by the person who is selflessly serving my Father, doing things for His Kingdom, and leading lost souls to the bosom of Jesus Christ than I am to the Miley Cyrus’ of the world who instead of using their talents to proliferate evil and warp the mind of our young people under the guise of “just having fun” should be utilizing the gifts that she and others that are in her situation to worship the Most Holy God, bring praise to His Name, and continually learn to grow in the Lord so that in turn those “gifts” could be used to help others which is what and why she and others like her were blessed with them anyway.

I’m not condemning the Miley’s of the world….I pray for them, I love them, I cherish them and it’s easy for me because I can still recall a day not so long ago when I was wasting the talents and gifts that God blessed me with to serve my own and the enemy’s devices so far be it from me to “SMH” at them yet not pray for them and that God will deliver them from the “fog of this world” that they live in, into the reality of who, what, and why they were made so that they can begin to fulfill their destined destiny.

Lastly, and please don’t get me wrong because I am in no way trying to demean anyone who celebrates “celebrities”…it’s just not my “thang” yet I do root for certain athletes, or I will see a movie just because I like the way a certain actor/actress acts, so I do appreciate and recognize them for what they do especially those who use their celebrity as a platform for God’s Kingdom.

So as the rest of the planet so eagerly celebrate the “celebrities” or “stars” that represent this world, my shout-out and applause goes to the brother/sister/child/man/woman who has helped the homeless today, given hope to the one who feels lost, given the knowlege of the “living-water” to the thirsty, fed the one who is hungry, provided shelter to the downtrodden, those who pay their tithe in giving back a portion of what God has blessed them with, those who give offerings so that the Lord’s work on this earth can be done through His people, preached the Gospel to all end’s of the earth, and to any and all of my brother’s and sister’s in Christ….YOU are my celebrities and are worthy of my applause!

Finally, and as a matter of respect I do as was done many times in the Bible as a show of reverence and respect, I spiritually bow down before you seven times to show you my appreciation in how you serve our Lord and love His Son the Lord Jesus Christ!

Be blessed and may you have a Jesus-filled day!

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

