“Fearfully and Wonderfully Made”. (by Sister @Veronica Brown; September 23, 2014)

Posted: October 3, 2014 in Articles
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I realize that some of what follows does not speak to most of the the Black/African American women in my feed. I will say it, and without apologies.

Most of it fits all Black/African American women. Today is Tuesday, only the second day into the work week, and I have had several conferences with people where I’ve had to “correct”, non of which I’m getting paid. What I’ve had to say has been difficult for them to hear, but I’ve gotten, “Thank you. Thank you for correcting me.” or “Thank you for helping me.” The word “correction” throws me off.

When I work with people and I offer direction, or give assertive statements, I see it as strengthening and equipping, not as correction, because ultimately each individual is the authority in their life, hopefully they’ve submitted to live under God, but they still remain the authority in their life.

This is what I want to say to Black women here in Lufkin specifically, and also to those in East Texas, Texas and the United States. Stop playing small. Live up to your potential and exceed all expectations. We are a minority in number, but we are powerful in the spirit.

Stop having babies with different men. Stop promiscuity. Stop having babies out of wedlock. Don’t date a man that does not have the potential to be a life-long partner. Don’t date or marry an abusive man, whether it be emotionally, physically, psychologically, or spiritually. Get an education and become financially independent. Require that your man gets an education and learn a skill or a trade. Require that he distinguishes himself. Stop settling for whatever falls at your feet. Demand more or leave it there.

Allow no one to tell you you are not good or able. Allow no one to tell you you are not as good as you are, especially when you are not saying that you are good at anything. Let no one hold you back in spirit, deed, thought, or word.

The Bible depicts God as the friend of the forgotten ones, those who have been passed over, the humble ones, those without family, those without: Moses, David, Esther, Ruth.

Hold your head up! Walk in dignity and strength.

If you need someone to tell you that you are good and worthy, God tells you, and I affirm it.

If you need someone to tell you that you are higher in the Spirit than you are currently living and performing, God tells you that. I affirm it.

If you need someone to tell you you are better than you come across on paper or the census or the statistics, God tells you that. I affirm it.

If you need someone to tell you you have some of the best minds in the world. God tells you. I affirm it.

BUT, don’t listen to anyone or anything that says you are less, less than, or not good, not good enough.

God NEVER said that; and I WON’T affirm it.

Stop listening to lies. Stop allowing societal patterns and history to hold you back. Today is the day for you to stand, walk forth and rise.

God made you. You are wonderful, and fearfully made. (Psalm 139:14)

You are better than you come across on paper. You are better than you think. You are God’s Chosen in this moment in history. Like Esther. Prepare yourself, learn, strengthen yourself. Rise.

Comments

Leave a Reply

