Are You Hearing From God OR Are You Listening To Your “Black” (“white, Latino, or “Other”) Pride?

Posted: November 25, 2014 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

What you should be asking yourself INSTEAD of questioning my “blackness” is’ “if Ron, this man of God who I can clearly see hears from God and reverently fears God, who’s character I know, and who has a track record of speaking the “truth” no matter what “man” thinks of him, is saying what he is saying…would it be wise for me to not at least pray and ask God if what He is saying is true or not?

Am I holding onto the “blackness” that I’ve been taught which was born out of having to deal with racism, yet now have I, as God has spoken to Him about, allowed it to morph from something that was initially ‘right” into something that is now “wrong” and that is allowing my past injustices due to racism to NOT speak the truth of Christ into my and the world’s present situations?

Simply put, you who know me know that due to my growing up fatherless and in dire financial need know that not only was my life NOT with the Lord but I had a disdain for Him which morphed into a stated hatred for Him at one point in my life.

However, now I am an unabashed follower and disciple of Christ who continually and steadily is growing in the Lord Jesus Christ.

In this vein, I learn from you, I teach you, I pray with you, and many of you have come to trust me to seek God on your behalf yet when it comes to all things “black” you draw a line as if God recognizes such a thing.

Man please (and I say that with as much sarcasm as I am allowed by the Lord)!

I am proud of ALL of my heritage/culture/upbringing etc. but I DON’T idolize it or let it lead my life…my life is lead by Christ NOT by “man”, the Church or the black community but by the Holy Spirit of my Master the Lord Jesus Christ.

So I entreat you to bow before Him and ask Him as I did over nine years ago to show me what holds me and so many of us “black folk” back?

I surmise that if you truly seek Him on this and are willing to NOT allow your “black pride” (you folks with “white, Latino, Asian, Democrat, Republican, Or any other “pride”) do the same because He’s speaking to YOU also!) He will give you the same answer that He gave me and that is that it is the “pride” that holds you back from completely accepting Him and His way of doing things because that “pride” is rooted in and is of the devil and along with it comes a strong hold of the “curse” which will only destroy and it is in this that He gave me a vision as to why so many of (speaking of myself because I grew up in black neighborhoods) the black neighborhoods are seemingly under a perpetual curse.

Lastly, and again, you don’t have to like it but it is the truth and my Lord has set me free…now don’t you want some of that freedom?

 

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

