How is Rioting and Looting Doing Anything Helpful? (Especially if you call yourself a “Christian”)

Posted: November 25, 2014 in Articles, Politics, Religion
Tags: , , , , , ,

John 18:10-11King James Version (KJV)

10 Then Simon Peter having a sword drew it, and smote the high priest’s servant, and cut off his right ear. The servant’s name was Malchus.

11 Then said Jesus unto Peter, Put up thy sword into the sheath: the cup which my Father hath given me, shall I not drink it?

Romans 13:4The Message (MSG)

3-5 Do you want to be on good terms with the government? Be a responsible citizen and you’ll get on just fine, the government working to your advantage. But if you’re breaking the rules right and left, watch out. The police aren’t there just to be admired in their uniforms. God also has an interest in keeping order, and he uses them to do it. That’s why you must live responsibly—not just to avoid punishment but also because it’s the right way to live

Matthew 5:21-22The Message (MSG)

21-22 “You’re familiar with the command to the ancients, ‘Do not murder.’ I’m telling you that anyone who is so much as angry with a brother or sister is guilty of murder. Carelessly call a brother ‘idiot!’ and you just might find yourself hauled into court. Thoughtlessly yell ‘stupid!’ at a sister and you are on the brink of hellfire. The simple moral fact is that words kill.

(Below is a comment/response to a Facebook post from a friend who was rightly in despair about the going’s on in Ferguson, MO after the grand jury did not bring an indictment against Officer Darren Wilson.  Even if it had been a wrongful shooting BLACK FOLK SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF HOW OUR LEADERS AND THE COMMUNITY IS BEHAVING!  ESPECIALLY, if they call themselves Christians!)

No matter the facts and no matter how much evidence is presented, I’m sad to say that I know people, people who are seemingly intelligent, seemingly educated with one or more “degrees”, and even worse…seemingly “Christian” or purportedly followers of “Christ” who are black and would NEVER allow Michael Brown to enter their homes, would have not wanted him to associate or play with their children, and would be outraged if they had owned the store that Mr. Brown robbed and the police had done nothing (which was the reason that he was stopped and the whole incident happened because once again HE WAS THE AGGRESOR in this incident and don’t give me the nonsense about how bad the police can be because I know as I’ve been wrongly stopped but UNLIKE Mr. Brown I didn’t just rob someone and I complied, acted respectfully, took the badge number and filed a PROPER complaint!).

 I have and will continue to rail against the so-called black community when our “blackness” ursurps the authority and teachings of Jesus Christ because they(the black community) align themselves together in their “blackness” but in doing so they often align themselves AGAINST Christ when they refuse to do what Christ would do in these situations or stand in agreeance with violence, rioting or looting under the false guise of justice which is contrary to how Christ or even Martin Luther King Jr. handled injustice .

Would Christ align Himself with looting or violence..NO! Would Christ align Himself with wrong when His word clearly teaches us that He was the very personification of “RIGHT”…NO! This is why I traded my “black card” in for a “Jesus Card” because from my early rearing I noticed how fickle the benefits of the black card were yet I see no end to the benefits of being a holder of the Jesus card.

In fact, God has clearly shown me that this “black” way of thinking is one of the sole reasons that the so-called “black community” operates under a curse because in aligning itself with it’s blackness which is idolistic in its very nature, it aligns itself away from Christ which further opens itself up to the very demonic nature of being that we witness in it that the “Church” tries do defeat as we as the “light of Jesus” are sent out to walk among that “darkness” and I thank you my friend for raising me up as a willing disciple to go out among that community that I was once aligned with to teach others that if they are on that “black” road then they are on the “wide” one and not on the narrow one that leads to Christ Jesus!

I am proud of my black skin and all of the culture and everything that comes with it but its way down on the list of things that Christ has blessed me with and I will continue to be a voice that shouts out to the community that I once called my own to stop being “black” and start being what they were made to be…Christ-like!

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

