THIS is an African-American….I’m Not.

Posted: January 23, 2015 in Articles, Politics, Religion
Tags: , , , ,

10730774_930304393669848_1538188681773391022_n

THIS is an African-American…I’m not. I am descended from the great Kings and Queens in Africa and I am proud of that beautiful lineage yet I was born in the United States of American therefore I’m an American.

Unlike far too many black folk I am proud to be born as a black man in America and while I’d rather simply be called “American”, being called a “Black American” will suffice.

However, the whole reason that we have all of these silly debates on whether to be called this or that is because we allow ourselves to be categorized by our government, our “cultures”, and the world according to their standard and while we are on this earth.

But, in reality, I am a follower of the Lord Jesus Christ and the sole identity that is important to me that is far above being an American, being black, being a father, son, brother, and friend IS knowing that I took on His Name when I gave my life to Him becoming His Son for eternity.

So while I will most assuredly answer to “American”, “Black American”, Ron, etc., if asked my identity for the purposes of this world…the truth is that I am simply a “Christian” (yet a prince and co-heir by being adopted by Christ) and my sole allegiance is not to a race, creed, color, or country (I am aligned with those until they conflict with Christ) but to the God who died a horrible, gruesome death on a “tree” on a lonely hill named Calvary.

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

