My Response to #NASCAR for Their Ridiculous Announcement Concerning the Indiana Religious Freedom Act/Law

Posted: April 1, 2015 in Articles, Constitution, Freedom, Liberty, Religion
Tags: , , , ,

NASCAR just weighed into the fray about the religious freedom law issue in Indiana saying:  DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (March 31, 2015) — “NASCAR is disappointed by the recent legislation passed in Indiana. We will not embrace nor participate in exclusion or intolerance. We are committed to diversity and inclusion within our sport and therefore will continue to welcome all competitors and fans at our events in the state of Indiana and anywhere else we race.” — NASCAR Senior Vice President and Chief Communications Officer Brett Jewkes

Well, NASCAR had their say…this is my reply to them exercising my rights granted under our Constitution AND that I honorably served, fought, and protected as a soldier who guarded our country and our way of life and was prepared to give my life in it’s defense (I watch NASCAR for racing NOT politics!):

Dear sir/ma’am,

I have been a fan of NASCAR for as long as I remember but for you to join the political circus that is the Indiana Freedom of Religion issue that has been propagated by the liberal media really makes my blood boil.

While you have the right to sound off on your opinion know that opinions are like butt-holes and everyone has one.

I watch NASCAR BECAUSE it does not pander to the liberals who want us to hide all things God and I believe that the sport that I so love has been blessed because of it.

I am a black man who had to endure many racist taunts, rebel flags, obscene gestures, looks, etc., when I first started coming to NASCAR events YET as a soldier and veteran of the forces which guard out country and our way of life I also realize that I fought for their very freedom to have that freedom of speech even if I didn’t agree with it AND I fully realize that those people did not represent the vast majority of intelligent NASCAR fans who were kind, friendly, and willing to help out when I or people in my group had a need once we were at the track.

Indiana and other states passed this law because the federal government and it’s courts system, has time and time again weekend our religious freedom so the states have to act to protect its citizens. This law was in no way intended to violate anyone’s individual rights but it was passed to protect the rights of “free people” to practice THEIR religion and not be forced to provide services that offend their religious beliefs which are SUPPOSED to be guaranteed under the Constitution.

I have been an ambassador for this sport to the black community and numerous black people’s and organizations have either started viewing or coming to NASCAR sanctioned events BECAUSE of my passion for NASCAR and it’s “stars”.

I have tirelessly campaigned for the leadership of NASCAR to let people in the black community know that the reason that we pray before our events is because we understand that we are a Judeo-Christian nation that was founded in God YET we force no one to pray and no one is excluded and that you have tirelessly made every effort to ensure that bigotry of any kind is not tolerated at NASCAR sanctioned events at EVERY level from the feeder series or affiliated series (which I love and watch by the way).

I appeal to you to NOT get caught up in this nonsense because there wouldn’t be a need for this type of legislation if the federal government would stop ignoring the Constitution and allow people to freely express their religious convictions in a manner of how they see fit and THEN handle the cases that arise that people my try to discriminate by shielding themselves under religious freedom on a case by case basis.

I pray that you do not fall into the liberal trap of political correctness because I as a black man really like the fact that you allow anyone to come into NASCAR as long as they have the talent and mental fortitude to come into the open atmosphere that you have fostered over the years without bigotry of any kind.

I know that you meant well and are trying to do the right thing but trust that many of your fans if not most will be disappointed in you wading into this liberal water because as I said we don’t watch you to see you make political statement s that will gain you favorable media attention…we watch you because we love racing and the Christian values that it represents.

Lastly, this bill was written not for bigotry purposes but to protect those people Christian or otherwise who are being forced to pay for abortions, conduct homo-sexual weddings, support political organizations that are against their faith, etc., and MOST of them are “Christian” and the assault on the Christian faith has reached almost legendary status…YET this law will also protect the Muslim, the Jewish, the Buddhist, and whatever religion WITHOUT allowance for discrimination because we still have the Civil Rights Act as “law” and anyone who feels that they are being discriminated against can still pursue legal action and the LAW has already been precedented in court as EVERY court has made the distinction between religious freedom and bigotry.

I’m sorely disappointed yet I still applaud MOST of your actions but please stay out of this nonsense…you’re better than that.

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

P.S. – I have ideas on how to get more minority children involved to appreciate NASCAR and also I instruct inner-city mostly minority kids and one of the tools that I use is NASCAR and how your organization have evolved over the years to include any and every one that wants to attend your events.

Comments
  1. Lou Windsor says:

    Unfortunately Ron, too many organizations like NASCAR go to their marketing/publicity wonks before they go to their legal/common sense teams. They jump on bandwagons of ‘support’ because they are told that the 18-30 year old frivolous money spenders support ‘gay rights’, NASCAR needs to cater to their ‘opinions’. It’s becoming less about morality, principle, faith, and truth. It’s now about marketing, Q rating, and bottom lines.

Leave a Reply

