I’m Not Abandoning “Social Media”…Just Putting It In It’s Proper Place

Posted: May 27, 2015 in Articles, Freedom, Politics, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

As many of you now know I’ve been somewhat distant on social media over the past two to three months to include all social media platforms to include my personal blog ronbigblackgarrett@wordpress.com .

This has been no accident and the reason is that I’ve come to the obvious conclusion that too much social media not only distracts me from time with Jesus but it also has a poisoning effect on my “spiritual self”…this is the reason that many of you have noticed that I have not been “fighting” as much with people on FB anymore ESPECIALLY politically.

Don’t get it twisted, there is a time and a place for political/societal battles (I have not abandoned them completely), but far too many times I have allowed people who have been blinded by this world and refuse to hear from God WHILE claiming that God agrees with things that His Word clearly speaks out against to draw me into “fights” that are pointless due to these people’s idolistic worship of their “blackness”, their “whiteness”, or their allegiance to a particular political party be they Republican or Democrat, OR simply due to cultural/societal teachings that have been handed down generationally…THESE “things” do NOT, even if the people using them purport “GOD” in justifying their behavior/words/actions do NOT make their behavior/words/actions Godly…and never will BECAUSE they are NOT Godly and are of this world…AND we know “who” runs THIS world…don’t we?

When I see and/or talk to people about the things of God and see that they are so clearly blinded by this world’s way of thinking (how they were raised ESPECIALLY due to their black, white, or “other” culture) I often take what should be a righteous anger and allow it to become something else that is sinister, evil, and unbecoming of the “royalty” that I have become as co-heir to the throne of God with Jesus Christ.

I call “it” sinister, evil, and unbecoming because ANYTHING that is NOT “of” God is therefore NOT Godly and must be “hewn into the fire” and since I have far too often allowed my anger at Biblically “foolish” people to become personal I have made the choice to “back-off” of ALL social media platforms while reserving the right to peruse them at MY leisure and comment/respond when I feel like it but NO LONGER with provocation from people who obviously must be reading from a different Bible or hearing from a spirit that is different than God’s Holy Spirit I hear from that is referred to in said Bible.

This doesn’t make me “better” than anyone as there are many of my brothers/sisters who have made the choice to abandon social media all together so what I’m saying is not new and it also doesn’t make me “better” or more “spiritual” than anyone else because social media can be (and should be) a useful and powerful tool to reach others that may not otherwise be reached to be ministered to and/or to reach those who would not otherwise set foot in a house of worship for whatever reason (past hurts, wrong teachings, mis-application of God’s Word, and abusive/fake Men and women of God).

This decision and my words have been carefully thought out and only prompted to be written out today via the Holy Spirit as I was not even going to let anyone know that I was “backing-off” of social media…I was simply going to back off…and that was that.

Yet, as it always seems to be with me….God had a different plan AND since I have already “backed-off” of social media anyway I guess that my mind was clear enough to hear Him prompt me to write this to any that will listen today.

As I intimated earlier I was already backing off of social media but it was during my recent cruise vacation and the LACK of being able to keep up with social media that I fully realized how “plugged” in that I had become and that I realized the total effect and Hold (power) that I had allowed it to have in my life.

Instead of IT being the tool that God intended me to use it to minister with or to simply have fun with (He does allow us this people), I had allowed “it” (social media) to make me IT’s “tool” (I know some of you have jokes) to garner so much of my time (EVEN with “religious/spiritual” posts) that I was pushing aside time for it that I should’ve been utilizing for the more “important thing” and that was “sitting” at Jesus’ “feet” and listening/learning from Him.

During this cruise vacation and due to the facts that the devices were “turned-off” and on “airplane mode” for an entire week it was so refreshing to not have to speak to my wife, my children, and my spiritual daughters through their “devices’, enjoy each moment without having to “post” about it as soon as it happened, actually speak words about what was happening around us and not “text” them to one another,  and to have their complete attention (and them have mine) as we spoke of the events of the day and the plans that we had for tomorrow.

Almost immediately when we reentered back into society out came the “devices” and almost everyone was back into that “cone of silence” that happens when everyone peruses social media or their “texts”, Snap-chats, etc., and for the first time in a long time it made me simply sick to my stomach and I made a silent vow then and there to never allow myself to ever to be fully immersed in that nonsense again and as the leader in my home I will ensure that we have “device-free” time so that we can unplug and enjoy the uniqueness of each other’s faces with all of the expressions both good and bad which is sorely missing in the tech-crazed society that we live in (I didn’t take my plane off of “airplane mode” until we almost made it back home..LOVED IT!!)

This world and all of its “social-ness” will one day fade away and only the “Father, His Son Jesus Christ, and His Holy Spirit” will remain AND I will also be allowed to join with them for all eternity since I made the choice to ask Jesus into my heart, repent for and ask Him to forgive me of my sins so that He can speak on my behalf to the Father so my “social-ness” will be reserved more to God’s “Face” and His eternal “book”.

I will ensure that I “tweet” more “Tweets” to Him than I do “man”.

I will be “LinkedIn” to him daily for TRUE job opportunities.

I will check out HIS board on “Hisinterest” far more than I do Pinterest to ensure that I am more interested in what His interests are than I am mine.

I will ensure that I “Reddit” meaning that I continue to read and read even more of His word than I do what is actually on “Reddit’.

I will ensure that I’m more available to check out what the Holy Spirit is “blogging” about into my heart more than I do my own blog or anyone else’s blog because in reality it’s only His words that truly matter.

AND I will ensure that I take time to properly view and review the many images that I, due to distraction from social media, from “His-stagram” instead of trying to keep up with everyone else’s pics and “doings” on Instagram.

Soooooo!  If I miss your event (birthdays, special “postings”, etc)…I apologize in advance via this post.  I cannot see how I can avoid “texts” much more than I do now so while I have to take and receive them know that I will limit them as much as possible and try to get people to speak to me by “voice” more for a more human connection and only “text” via people who live their lives completely by it like many of our kids many of whom have seemingly lost the ability to communicate in any way other than social media.

Again, this does not mean that I will miss everything on social media because I will be on sometime BUT it WILL NOT be allowed to have the idolistic prominence that I allowed it to have before and to those that understand….good, to those who don’t….tough…you already know how I roll.

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Comments
  1. zanspence says:

    Well, I’m not even on Facebook. Its too intrusive. In the past few years it has literally been included in many divorce filings. You can Google this.

    I am only on LinkedIn as a onlinerolodex, and twitter and instagram. I barely tweet and pictures tell so much without much intrusion.

    The other problem with social media for the generation below me, Generation Z, is that they have lost the true meaning of friends and communication.

    • I agree dear sister! You show a lot of wisdom for not getting caught up with it. I have to remain somewhat on it because I am a youth leader and so many of my children that I work with are on it but I will minimize it from here on out. Be blessed!

Leave a Reply

