Encouragement to those that feel defeated today

Posted: June 9, 2015 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , ,

We can become so defeated when we “miss the mark” or seem incapable of escaping our “sin” or when we remain in a certain state or condition for much longer than we thought we should be in it.

I myself have wondered at times why no matter how much I pray, no matter how much I praise, no matter how much I go to church, no matter how much I fellowship, no matter how much I cry, I plead, I wallow in self-pity, or try to simply live in and receive God’s unmerited love…I still fail.

The attached video, which has been viewed millions of times, gives us a perfect example of the parallel of how God views us…his children when we rebel against Him.

Even in our rebellion He STILL loves us unconditionally and desires for us to come home and eat as His table with Him as He teaches us how to walk the right path.

I so needed this this morning but I know that someone else is going through some things that have made you feel defeated.

Yes, I know that we are SUPPOSED to know better and simply “trust” God in “all things” but the truth is that sometimes during any stage of our “growth” process we simply don’t and God has impressed strongly upon me…it’s okay, He’s not surprised that you would be this way, AND He’s not mad at you AND He still loves you!

Though you smile and give off the proper, religious greetings/phrases about how “good” you’re doing…you know that you are portraying a lie and you feel somewhat hopeless even though you know where your “help” comes from.

You’ve prayed, you’ve “praised through it”, you’ve read your Bible until your eyes hurt, and you’ve done everything that you’ve been instructed to do to no avail and no matter the image you portray daily…YOU FEEL DEFEATED!

Well…I come to you today as one who has often felt the sting of this kind of defeat even when I know that I am His…God has given you the victory and just like the father in this video He sees your struggle, your pain, and feels your feeling of “defeat” and He wants you to know that no matter how you feel…YOU’VE ALREADY WON THROUGH HIM!

I don’t know who this was for (besides me) today but I pray that you simply praise Him through your feelings of defeat today no matter the issue that you face.

He loves and adores you so much my friend and He took the time to use me,. an imperfect vessel to give you a personal and perfect message and that is that HE LOVES YOU and despite what the enemy and/or your flesh has been telling you, HE HAS NEVER LEFT YOU!

Be blessed!

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Comments
  1. Suellen Dehnke says:

    I enjoy all your articles but wanted you to know that this particularly touched me today. My husband is a Pastor. His church ran out of money 6 years ago and closed. We’ve been waiting for 6 long years. Years of hardship and soul searching. No new call has been forthcoming. We have many churches closing or not able to afford full-time Pastor’s anymore. At 56, he hasn’t had much luck in the secular world either. We’ve made it on part-time temporary jobs. As we scratch to make a living it’s never far from the back of our minds. Why did this happen? What is God’s plan for us? Why are we going through this when we thought we were doing everything right? It’s so easy to feel defeated. Thank you for the reminder today of God’s love.

    • You know what’s funny dear Sister is that I had seen that video before but fell compelled to re-watch it for some reason. As I watched it God started speaking to me to where I was at in my walk which I feel has been stagnant and though I know that I am His i was starting to feel defeated so I surmised that this word was soley for me. That is until He firmly let me know that it wasn’t just about me so I penned it to the blog and to my FB page just to encourage someone else as it had encouraged me. Though you didn’t have to I thank you for allowing me to know that it helped you because in doing so it further encouraged me today. I pray and believe that God will ensure that fruit is born out of your current situation and I pray that He gives you continued strength to not give up until it manifests. Again, thank you and be blessed dear sister! Ron

Leave a Reply

