It’s Not A “Black, White, Or Racial” Issue For Me. The Issue is That Rachel Dolezal Lied And Far Too Many “Christians” Are Okay With It

Posted: June 16, 2015 in Articles, Politics, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Proverbs 13:5: The righteous hate what is false, but the wicked bring shame and disgrace.

Leviticus 19:11: Do not lie. Do not deceive one another.

Psalm 101:7; No one who practices deceit will dwell in my house; no one who speaks falsely will stand in my presence.

Proverbs 12:22: The LORD detests lying lips, but he delights in men who are truthful.

Proverbs 19:22 Better to be poor than a liar.

Proverbs 12:19: Truthful lips endure forever, but a lying tongue lasts only a moment.

Proverbs 11:3The integrity of the upright guides them, but the unfaithful are destroyed by their duplicity.

Proverbs 26:28: A lying tongue hates those it hurts, and a flattering mouth works ruin.

Jeremiah 9:5: Friend deceives friend, and no one speaks the truth. They have taught their tongues to lie; they weary themselves with sinning.

Psalm 52:3 You love evil rather than good, falsehood rather than speaking the truth.

http://www.today.com/news/rachel-dolezal-speaks-today-show-matt-lauer-after-naacp-resignation-t26371

In the article linked above everyone is seemingly in or not in an uproar over Rachel Dolezal who pretended to be black when she was white.  In the linked interview Ms. Dolezal makes a statement that caused me to have a few thoughts about what I might “identify” myself as if I wasn’t soooo grounded in my identity in Jesus Christ as His Son and Co-heir to the throne of God.

So just for fun these are my thoughts as I pondered it:

“Well heck! Today I identify as a millionaire; tomorrow I will identify as a top-notch NASCAR driver, on Thursday y’all better look out because I will identify as myself as the best running back ever in the NFL, and to round the week out I will identify myself as a lion because when I was a kid I always wanted to be one, and over the weekend I will be the BEST DAD EVER OF ALL TIME!! (Well none of this apparently is going to be true ESPECIALLY the “BEST DAD EVER OF ALL TIME because we know that there is only One of those and that is Jesus!!!!!)

As I continued to think about this situation I believe the Lord spoke the following into my heart on the situation as well as my thoughts on it.

I believe that situations like this one shows what the end result is now that we have allowed this political correctness nonsense to go on and because we have allowed this generation to grow up with the belief that all that they have to do is to be who they “feel” like being instead of realizing that God has already created them in His image for a specific and unique purpose to bring HIM glory and praise.

For all that know me you know that especially for me that this is not about anything race related.

This is about integrity, honor, and about this lady’s lack of these traits as well as her STILL unrepentant and arrogant attitude for lying (as I’ve watched her she is the very Biblical definition of “prideful” and “haughty”).

What’s sad is that so many people BOTH white and black have the attitude that since she has done “so much” for black folk (and other “minorities” as well) that she should be given a pass for her deception and many of these people “identify” themselves as “Christians” no less.

My question to those “Christians” is: Does God give us a pass when we lie?

I’m all about forgiveness so that is a “moot” point to me and the issue was never a “race” issue of this lady being white and leading a historically “black” organization because anyone who knows history should know (sadly many black fold don’t know this) that the NAACP and MOST of the historically “black” organizations were either founded by whites or supported and funded by whites.

SO, these “Christian’s” who simply brush off the lies that this woman told are many of the same “Christian’s” who give other political elites a pass when they lie (BOTH PARTIES) and have a “blase'” and often unrepentant attitude towards lying and/or when they commit other sins.

I call them “Burger King Christians” because they want to “have it” their “way” (BK’s motto is or used to be: “have it your way”) when there is only ONE WAY and that is GOD’S WAY and last time I checked God still see’s sin as sin and expects us through the glorious blood of Jesus Christ to repent of our sin, ask for forgiveness of our sin, and accept Jesus’ leadership in our lives to be free of sin (I have had to repent of being the “double-stack” with extra cheese and a side of fries Burger King Christian).

Lastly, as Christians we have a duty to call out sin among the “bretheren” (and “sisteren”) in a loving manner and/or not so loving when needed.

God doesn’t always give me a gently pat on the back when calling me out for my sinful thoughts and/or behaviors.  He has and I surmise that He still will, at times, utilize harsh reminders that my current sinful behaviors/thoughts are unacceptable and hurtful in my walk with Him which is first and foremost designed to bring HIM glory and HIM alone.

Too many churches preach messages that portray Jesus as some sort of soft God that doesn’t call out sin and/or even allows it at some level when the Bible is clear that isn’t true at all but the people who are being “destroyed” due to “a lack of knowledge” believe it and thus this belief proliferates and you have people like this woman and the people who are giving her a pass on her lies who are the ones living a “lie” if they think that God is not going to hold them accountable for them on the day of judgement.

If this is you today; if you’ve are or have been guilty of this…repent, ask for forgiveness, and accept it to be made whole AND ask God to work the sinful behavior of walking in agreement with lies instead of walking in agreement with HIS truth out of your life so that you may be free of it.

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

