A Hard One For Me Today…BUT…Are You Also Praying For Dylan Roof? (I Must Admit….I Struggled With It)

Posted: June 19, 2015 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Question of the day (Though I have prayed for Mr. Dylann Roof as I have for the victims and families of the victims as well as the affected community and the nation as well, I must admit that for some reason I struggled with this one (this post) today as God challenged me to post it on social media…it is only one of a few that I have ever struggled with):

Dear brother/sister in Christ..are you praying for Dylann Roof who killed the beautiful 9 brothers and sisters at the Emanuel AME Church in Charleston, SC?

Are you praying for his family?

Are you lifting them up in prayer as you do the families of the victims?

Are you praying for Dylan’s repentance even though you are angry at the loss of these dear souls?

Are you praying that as a result of this heinous act that the enemy tried to use to “kill, steal, and destroy” that God’s glory be revealed?

Are you praying that the schemes of the enemy (that are so prevalent in the “air” of the earth) that he hoped would further confuse a nation that is so anxious about the evil that “racism” is fall null and void to the ground and NOT take root?

Are there people of God out there reading this who will do what God has shown them to do through the example of His Son Jesus Christ when He forgave “us” (the world and all of mankind though He didn’t need to and though we didn’t deserve it) and forgive those who seemingly don’t deserve it?

God challenged me with this today as I’m sure that some of you who are reading this and who are Christian yet are tempted to say “what the” fill in the blank are being challenged right now BUT I am simply His servant and I in my obedience will always strive to do what He tells me to do.

Though it is not easy….Lord, as I lift up the victims that were killed by Mr. Dylann Roof and their names are: Cynthia Hurd, 54 years old; Susie Jackson, 87 years old; Ethel Lance, 70 years old; Rev. DePayne Middleton-Doctor, 49 years old; The Honorable Rev. Clementa Pinckney, 41 years old; Tywanza Sanders, 26 years old; Rev. Daniel Simmons, 74 years old; Rev. Sharonda Singleton, 45 years old; Myra Thompson, 59 years old

….I also ask for forgiveness in my unwillingness to pray for Mr. Roof and I NOW without reservation pray for his family and friends who are also affected by this tragedy.

I also pray for those around him that allowed and helped foster an environment of evil and hate in this young man who is also your child (lest we forget my Lord that you ALSO died for his sins when you died for our sins).

I further pray that you place people in Dylan’s path that you will use to minister to Him the love of your beautiful Son Jesus Christ so that he may come to repentance for ALL of the sins that he committed when he committed this crime but also for ALL of his sins, that he asks for forgiveness for them, and that he receive Your Son our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ as his Lord and Savior as we plead the Holy Blood of Jesus over his life today Lord.

I pray for the one that is reading this right now whom you have specifically placed in my heart for them to see that this letter is totally “bunk” (their thoughts), and even more specifically to the one who said aloud “bull—-” that is sitting at the desk in front of the computer Lord.

I pray for them because you’ve shown me that their willingness to not forgive as you have forgiven them is putting their own eternity with You in jeopardy and I pray that they heed this warning.

I pray this and stand in agreement with the servant’s of God through our Lord Jesus Christ for all these things that they may reveal your glory in Jesus’ Holy and Mighty Name,

Amen!

By the hand of your servant,

Ron Garrett

Leave a Reply

