Dress/Look The Part If You Want The Part

Posted: July 11, 2015 in Articles
Tags: , , , , , ,

This is a DIATRIBE (by Steven A. Smith of ESPN) that EVERYONE needs to listen to (courtesy ESPN “First Take”)  (https://www.facebook.com/james.frazier.399/videos/757867674246941/?pnref=story).

I have been preaching this message to the kids that I work with in ministry, with their parents in the “hood, with my spiritual sons/daughters, with my own children, etc. for as long as I can remember.

No one owes you ANYTHING!!!!

This generation (led by many in MY generation) has proliferated the idea that people looking for a job, or a loan, or “whatever” they need can do so with the attitude of “I gotta do ME!” without any consideration for what the person or entity ‘s wishes/desires that they are trying to receive what they need from is ridiculous and needs to quit being taught.

Pull your pants up, don’t wear “club clothes”, cover up your tattoos, groom your flipping hair, be prepared mentally/physically, and do all that you can do educational-wise to be prepared for the position that you are interested in obtaining or for the funds that you are seeking.

Common sense yet many people today walk into “you name it” place as if they run the joint and can tell the boss what to do and if the boss runs them off for that foolishness they then cry racism, sexism, and discrimination.

I had this happen at a new job one time. Normally when someone is new they try to NOT make waves with everyone (the new co-workers) but I couldn’t care less as long as I’m doing the right thing and living by God’s standards with respect to my employer.

There was this young lady that worked there who every time I walked by her desk was in the phone, was dressed like she interviewing for a model’s position at Victoria’s Secret (yet didn’t have the tools to do that job either but still wore the clothes anyway much to EVERYONE’S dismay), and was always late coming in, late coming back from her breaks, took extra breaks to smoke, took double the lunch break that everyone else took, etc.

One day our boss who was one of pf the nicest people I’ve ever met mentioned to her that she needed to REDUCE (he didn’t even tell her to completely STOP it) all of theses activities because it wasn’t fair to the other employees.

After he left she then went around to all,of the black folk and got them in a group and started the whole victim mentality thing because the boss was a white, Jewish man.

What was worse for me is that many of the people who,we’re now involved in wrongly shredding this man’s character were “proud Christian’s” and let you know every minute of the day that they were.

So I, being who I am approaches the group who,we’re now plotting to file a complaint against our employer who had been guilty of doing nothing but his job and politely said “what are y’all doing co-signing what this lady is doing for? Number one she is lying about what happened because I heard it. Number two you should know better because our boss had stood up,for each of you and does the best he can to support and fight for you and IS NOT RACIST! As Christians we must NEVER sign on with evil and these lies and what she is doing is evil. What you ALL are doing right now is why when true cases of racism come up that many people view them with skepticism.

Lastly, (pointing at the lady), every one of you know that what the boss has told this lady is true..I know not only because I’ve seen it with my owns eyes because YOU complain about it everyday YET you are sitting here allowing this woman and satan to control you into doing something that is wrong that could permanently harm this man.”

By the time I had finished speaking the throng of people had whittled down to just two or three and the woman and they left me and her standing alone.

Coming from a purely “black perspective” (since I had not yet determined if she was a Christian or not) I politely told her that what she was doing is exactly what retards ANY progress that respectable black folk are trying to make and THAT was the reason that I called her out for it.

She is since working somewhere else for about a third less than what she’s making now and our boss who has since passed on is STILL a much revered man and I can assure you that the people who allowed themselves to get caught up in that nonsense are probably glad that I stepped in because the would have regrets for besmirching a good mans name.

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

P.s.- every time I hear Steven A. speak I think of my Cuz Vandous E Stripling when he is on one of his rants, LOLLL

Leave a Reply

