“Our prayers affect our politics more than our fact-based opinions do”.

Posted: July 28, 2015 in Articles, Politics, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Proverbs 1 22-33
22-24 “Simpletons! How long will you wallow in ignorance? Cynics! How long will you feed your cynicism?
Idiots! How long will you refuse to learn? About face! I can revise your life.
Look, I’m ready to pour out my spirit on you; I’m ready to tell you all I know.
As it is, I’ve called, but you’ve turned a deaf ear; I’ve reached out to you, but you’ve ignored me.
25-28 “Since you laugh at my counsel and make a joke of my advice, How can I take you seriously?
I’ll turn the tables and joke about your troubles! What if the roof falls in, and your whole life goes to pieces?
What if catastrophe strikes and there’s nothing to show for your life but rubble and ashes?
You’ll need me then. You’ll call for me, but don’t expect an answer.
No matter how hard you look, you won’t find me.
29-33 “Because you hated Knowledge and had nothing to do with the Fear-of-God,
Because you wouldn’t take my advice and brushed aside all my offers to train you,
Well, you’ve made your bed—now lie in it; you wanted your own way—now, how do you like it?
Don’t you see what happens, you simpletons, you idiots? Carelessness kills; complacency is murder.
First pay attention to me, and then relax. Now you can take it easy—you’re in good hands.”

“Our prayers affect our politics more than our fact-based opinions do”.

This thought was impressed upon my mind as I contemplated on reentering the “world” as we got back from Vergecamp2015 (our youth camp).

As many of you know I have always been one that loves to debate politics and the “issues of the day”, but over the last year God has shown me that this (debating these issues) is quite often a fruitless proposition because many people cannot see through the “fog” of the political atmosphere because they have stopped listening to His voice.

They are more apt to listen to this candidate or that candidate, this party, or that party, this ideology, or that ideology, and much worse this pastor or that pastor many whom themselves have stopped hearing the voice of God and have instituted their own “word” with “points” from the Bible in place of God’s word.  YET, and quite often they leave God completely out of the equation which is why our nation and this world is in the state that it is in…and it’s Biblical.

Scripture foretells of these things so the “Christian” should not be surprised of the “haps” of these times yet we are still called upon to pray and “intercess” yet many of us do so only AFTER we have “worried” endlessly about the state of things instead of leaning on and trusting in God to “handle” things as His word tells us He will.

Lately as I have prayed, worshipped, and praised the Lord He has shown me that though I’ve made progress in this area He showed me that I have much more to learn and apply in my life in regards to being able to speak His word to the world and these “discussions” be they political, social, or “whatever” are far too often becoming a distraction to the process that He is working in me so I will be cutting back even further than I have over the past year because God has told me to do so.

God knows that I love the debates but He also knows that I love Him more than I love debating and as I grow further and further into Him my desire to please Him grows just as a boy’s desire to please his earthly father grows as he grows into manhood.

I write this so that you may understand if I abstain from commenting or replying on a topic that you may wish for me to speak on (that I normally would, LOL!), yet know that there will be some (as the Lord allows) that I will continue to speak on and at times it may seem like I’m invisible and at times it may seem like I’ve not left at all.

(Note:  Does NOT mean that we are to be silent!  It means that I/we need to ensure that we are seeking the Lord more about WHICH conversations to be in AND what to say when we are in them.  It may be that some of you or even myself will still be in the same discussions but I’ve already seen in my own life that the more I seek Him the less I am being drawn into conversations that will NEVER bear fruit and into more that WILL bear fruit.)

Lastly, know that I contemplated deleting or suspending most of my social media accounts but during the process I didn’t feel as if this was what God wanted me to do because they are, if used in the right way, tools that He uses to communicate His heart to His people and it is ME that was/is the problem and NOT social media (go figure, LOL!).

I will and I encourage any who read this to pray more and talk less (or talk ONLY when God allows or instructs) and watch God do what we in all of our religious or political banter cannot do.

Be blessed!

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

 

Leave a Reply

