From my Bible reading today Proverbs 2 1-15 (MSG)

Posted: August 4, 2015 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , ,

From my Bible reading today Proverbs 2 1-15 (MSG):

Make Insight Your Priority

2 1-5 “Good friend, take to heart what I’m telling you; collect my counsels and guard them with your life. Tune your ears to the world of Wisdom; set your heart on a life of Understanding. That’s right—if you make Insight your priority, and won’t take no for an answer, Searching for it like a prospector panning for gold, like an adventurer on a treasure hunt, Believe me, before you know it Fear-of-God will be yours; you’ll have come upon the Knowledge of God.

6-8 And here’s why: God gives out Wisdom free, is plainspoken in Knowledge and Understanding. He’s a rich mine of Common Sense for those who live well, a personal bodyguard to the candid and sincere. He keeps his eye on all who live honestly, and pays special attention to his loyally committed ones.

9-15 So now you can pick out what’s true and fair, find all the good trails! Lady Wisdom will be your close friend, and Brother Knowledge your pleasant companion. Good Sense will scout ahead for danger, Insight will keep an eye out for you. They’ll keep you from making wrong turns, or following the bad directions Of those who are lost themselves and can’t tell a trail from a tumbleweed, These losers who make a game of evil and throw parties to celebrate perversity, Traveling paths that go nowhere, wandering in a maze of detours and dead ends.”

God spoke to my heart as I read today’s reading from these scriptures to continue to not give into the same behavior of many of “His” children who continue to walk in agreement with the current acceptance of things that He has deemed evil.

I have actually paraphrased the words of these scriptures to friends and family alike as we discuss the events of the day and societal issues on social media and in personal conversations or “comments” to posted information up for debate.

From abortion to all kinds of perversity He admonishes me to “hate the sin” not the “sinner” YET to not cave into and bow down to the accepted mantra of today’s society, EVEN WITHIN HIS OWN “CHURCH, and to NOT walk in agreement with lies, perversity to/against His word, to believe false teachings, false prophets, corrupt leaders, and to not accept or receive the evil spirits that have attached themselves to things that seem “good” that has corrupted the collective “mind” of the world and even worse within the body of Christ.

As I recounted the numerous conversations that I had with family, friends, brothers/sisters in the faith, and acquaintances alike God reminded me to not let my discouragement in wondering “why can’t they hear what you say to me Lord”? get the best of me and to continue on saying what He tells me to say without allowing myself to be distracted via my frustrations.

Thank you God for encouraging me today and not allowing me to continue to walk in my frustration and I pray that you continue to strengthen me to speak your heart to your people as you have spoken it to me.

I am humbled that you even take note of me and I along with my brothers and sisters lift up your Holy Name sweet Jesus…the Name above all Names, Highest of the Highest, King over all Kings, and Lord of Lord.

We praise you, we love you, we honor you, and we thank you for all that you have and will do for us your people!

By the hand of your eternal servant,

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

