“Straight Outta Compton”

Posted: September 2, 2015 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , ,

I debated going to see this movie (“Straight Outta Compton) as it was during my generation that this group “blew up” and became a cultural phenomenon that influenced millions in my generation and generations since through “gangsta-rap” which is now simply “rap” ( there used to be a difference). As usual God impressed upon me His thoughts on the matter and He reminded me that often when we humans look back on things in our lives that we often recall the “good” and forget the “bad.

The good is remembering this period of growing into being a man and NWA represented the struggle against social injustice but the bad was what came with NWA and that is the glorification of the gang lifestyle.

When rap group “NWA” left the underground in West coast rap and became mainstream so did the proliferation of the gang culture across this country and even where I lived people who never once had a thought about joining a gang (we used to whoop anyone’s butt for trying to bring that nonsense to our “hood”) started flashing signs and started being “affiliated” and the drugs, crime, etc, skyrocketed and God showed me that the enemy used hip-hop as a vehicle to make it acceptable to the point that even today “Christians” align themselves with this culture when the tenants of it are anti-thetical with a life dedicated to Christ.

For those that would argue this truth I would point you to scriptures like in Ephesians 4:29: “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen”….I challenge the “Christian” to recite the words that come from NWA,,this movie, and/or much of today’s hip-hop and/or,the entertainment industry as a whole as being anything less than “unwholesome”.

Now don’t go getting upset with me simply because I’m sharing with you the truth that God gave me on this (being rhetorical here…I really don’t give a rip who gets mad because God has spoken to me on this) .but we must even judge our moments of nostalgia and ensure that we are viewing them through the prism of Jesus’ eyes and not our “old man” eyes because we were made new in Christ Jesus and the “old” should have “passed away”.

So I won’t be seeing this movie though I fully respect the talents of the artists though my mind thinks of all of the positive things that these guys could bring to God’s Kingdom if they used the gifts to promote Christ.

NWA, represents lust of this world, lusts of the flesh, lust of the eyes, greed, chasing after the world instead of God, and it and others like it taught and glorified for an entire generation and has influenced generation’s the following generation to “get yours” by shooting, drugs, etc, and to seek “coming up” via other means except via Jesus and The Holy Spirit.

No one is going to hell for watching this or any movie but it does the spirit no good so,I can’t justify watching it for myself because it takes me back to a dark time when in my anger, much like these young brothers, almost committed actions that could have easily sent me to prison or had me end up,dead without knowing Christ which is the intent of the enemy and he is using music and every medium in entertainment to do it.

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

