“Pray”….You Never Know When God Will Use An Opportunity (Even a “racist” one” For His Glory IF You Remain Obdedient

Posted: November 21, 2015 in Uncategorized

Matthew 7:12:  12 “Therefore, whatever you want men to do to you, do also to them, for this is the Law and the Prophets.”

I posted the following as a response to a young  black man that had encountered someone who was racist toward him.

As I prepared to write a simple response THIS..the response below flowed from me via God’s Spirit.

It provides an account that God used to teach me to handle and look at “things” differently as a “follower” of “His” than this world does.

I pray that it encourages anyone who reads it to look at things differently.

Text of the comment is as follows (excuse any mistakes or misspellings…my hot dog fingers and “auto-correct” were in full effect as I typed this, LOL!!!!:

“Don’t be disgusted young brother. That is the reaction that our enemy wants you to have. I’ve found in times like this that God often puts that type of person in front of me to either show my growth, sharpen my Spirit, show them His “light”, and most importantly to be an opportunity to pray or intercede for them on His behalf as an obedience measure against the feeling of my angered “flesh”.

Example. I was on my way back home to Alabama from Texas when I was pulled over by a state trooper for what had to be because I matched a profile of a drug runner on the “I” corridor between here and Texas.

I was furious and as,he asked me for my information I was about to let him have it when God impressed upon me to hold my tongue.

I started to complain to God as the trooper searched my vehicle, called for backup (I think that he feared my size), and was putting me behind my schedule to get home to my family (11 hour drive).

As the other trooper pulled up I was about to blast them all about my “rights” when God who had already heard my complaints answered me and simply impressed upon me to “be quiet”, endure the process, and I had grown enough in Him that I knew that if He was taking the time to continually calm me down that there must be something else of HIS making going on and all of a sudden instead of being infuriated I started praying for peace.

Still angry, the trooper that was standing next to me started to converse with me because he could see that I was obviously agitated and once again I started to let “them” have it but all,of a sudden I remembered to do as I teach my students to “respect others ESPECIALLY those in authority positions” and to do Matthew 7:12 “do unto others as you would have them do unto you” (EVEN when the don’t reciprocate).

So instead of blasting I showed the, honor by thanking them for their service through clinched teeth and telling them that I was upset at this but God must have had a reason for allowing this.

The look on his face was priceless and from that part on I started little by little started seeing some of the work God was doing (He was letting me in on it too!).

The officers told me that I could go and apologized for the inconvenience so I drove off still seething yet a little angry at God for not allowing me to at least assert my rights.

It was then that God simply told me to now “pray” for the officer that pulled me over…I was like…..WHAT???????!!!!!!!!!

After a bit God didn’t relent and even pressed me harder to pray for the officer.

So….I prayed….and prayed….and prayed.

All of a sudden I started getting impressions of the officer in a situation where his life was in danger and the impression was becoming more and more real and I felt the impression to pray even harder so I found myself praying for the officer for most of the trip home (over 500 miles) every time the “stop” came into my mind.

This continued even after I made it home and even for the next couple of months.

As time went on I started to forget about it when one day at a random time God decided to clue me in on what happened.

He showed me that He needed me….someone that He knew would listen to Him to pray for this officer because these prayers would be used in saving this man’s life.

He let me know that EVERYONE that He puts before me deserves to be prayed for but the ones that truly “ticked me off” ESPECIALLY the ones who I suspect might be “racist”.

He let me know that I could either live my life on my terms (as the world does…handling things the way they do) or live it for His terms and for His purposes (which the world…especially the “black world” that I came from will look at with disdain…even the ones who are “Christian”).

It was then that He impressed me that one day in Heaven that I would be approached by this man, his loved ones, fellow officers, etc., (and others like him during my lifetime) with thanks and gratitude that I listened to God’s voice instead of doing what I felt in the flesh because “many lives were saved because of it”.

This type of prayer (effectual and ferverent) even when kindled by righteous anger God uses to intercess for people who might not otherwise have people of faith pray for them or might not know to do so when needed.

THIS, young brother is how/why these things occur and as God impressed upon me as He walked me through this “Son…it’s not about you or how you feel or even how your people feel. It’s about what I want and you are either going to be obedient to me or to yourself or the world…your choice”.

As you can see…I chose Him and it became the catalyst that freed me from looking at racism as the world and especially as the black community does/teaches so that I now when faced with these issues I teach the world and the community that I come from HIS way of handling situations (even racial ones) in Spirit instead of by the flesh.

To this day everytime that Officer Beatty comes across my mind I pray for him, his protection,, and his fellow officers.

This has become my mission because so many black folk respond to racism the wrong way instead of the “God way” which is why I do what I do and say what I say even though my community doesn’t receive it well…not my problem. “as for me and my house”.

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

P.s. – I don’t worry about the “white folk” because I’m sure that God had my white counterparts out there doing the same and that we will laugh about our trials and/or tribulations in Heaven, LOL,

Comments
  1. Suellen Dehnke says:

    I don’t often comment but I am always reading. Excellent article. Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

