“Taught” Racism

Posted: December 31, 2015 in Articles, Politics, Religion
Tags: , , , ,

(I’m sharing this to relay what God says about racism but know that since I am black and service many mostly black neighborhoods that He always seems to have me deal with this sin coming from a being born black perspective. With that being said I post the following:

I blame the parents for being stupid and indoctrinating these kids. Yet it is also an opportunity to teach the black community that we are guilty of the same.

I was taught to “hate” white folk growing up because they were hateful towards black folk but when I Gave my life to Christ He challenged me on everything that I had been taught as a black man and I then realized that I was just as wrong as the “white man” who was racist in Jesus’ eye if I returned racism.

(Below is my “comment” to the original post:

What’s also disturbing to me is that black folk do it too. One of the toughest challenges that I face in youth ministry is deprogramming the “hate” that is taught to kids BOTH black and white and by “Christians” no less.

Yes we should certainly point out this stupidity in white folk but we also must point it out and cull our own “nuts” in our communities who do the same.

When Jesus comes back a lot of folk white, black, or other will stand before Him and be judged for this sin and I surmise that a lot of black folk who live with excuses of being racist because they had racism committed against them are going to find out that those excuses are going to fall on deaf ears to Jesus.

I know because He showed me how I was programmed to be just as prejudiced towards White’s as they were against me under the excuse of this country’s history of racism towards blacks and others.

Yet, God showed me that this deception that is even propagated in the black church (and in the reverse in many predominately white churches also) is purely of the enemy and is used to keep,”Christians” from hearing and doing what God’s word says on the issue.

A lot of black folk get so upset with me for staying to them what God’s word says about this and if what I am saying wasn’t back up by scripture and what the Holy Spirit has taught me over the years then maybe I would remain silent. Galatians 3: 26-28 sums it up as we are to NOT identify more with our “race” as many blacks, whites, Hispanics, etc. do; “26For you are all sons of God through faith in Christ Jesus. 27For all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ. 28There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free man, there is neither male nor female; for you are all one in Christ Jesus.”.

Yet the Bible is clear that once we give our life to Christ we are no longer black, white, etc. Yet many people of color ignore or remain silent about the wrongs or ills of their communities while always pointing out the wrongs of “other” communities and that ALSO is an unGodly act as the Bible warns us about “pointing out the speck in our brothers eye while ignoring the log in our own eye”.

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

