“Grown Man Thinking”

Posted: January 17, 2016 in Articles, Freedom, Politics, Religion
Tags: , , , , , , ,

image

I can’t honestly say that I didn’t experience some of these things that Colonel Allen West speaks of in this meme.

BUT, what I didn’t do was sit around and “worry” about these people (racists…or anyone for that matter), waste time thinking about them (their actions, their words or their deeds)’ or even allow what they think of me affect the direction that I was trying to go because I always felt that to allow someone else’s thoughts, deeds, beliefs, or actions to affect me for even one moment as a TRUE sign of weakness.

I always figured that it was THEY who had the problem since they were racist and if the saying that “time is money” was true (and in many ways it is…especially back then) then it was THEM that was wasting time being productive while I continued to rise toward my goals, dreams, and visions.

I considered this “grown man thinking” back then and I still do.

Even now as a Child of God I use these principles in ministry because I can say and do what God’s Word says without considering or “fearing” what “man” (people) think about me.

This is true freedom because it comes from a place of realizing that as Jesus’ Son “other’s” opinions are simply that…their “opinion” and thus has no bearing on where HE (Jesus) is leading me.

Many of us…especially in the “Church” simply need to grow up.

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

P.S:  I would be remiss if I did not point out that it is only because of the sacrifices of those who came before me that I even have the freedom to think this way.

First and foremost this means Jesus and then people like Martin Luther King Jr. And many other heroes.

#GrownManThinking

Leave a Reply

