Will And Jada Pinkett Need To Be “Boycotting” Their Son Wearing Dresses And Makeup

Posted: January 22, 2016 in Articles, Politics, Religion
Tags: , , ,

I wonder how many white folk will be honored at the NAACP awards on Feb 5?

Seriously though…we have black folks being murdered in the “hood” I’m record numbers and hardly anyone is in an uproar yet we have time to get upset at the folks at the Oscars (whose president is a black woman BTW) for the lack of diversity in awards.

Don’t get me wrong…there should be more diversity in roles, awards, etc., but if we are going to have our own network, own award shows, etc., we need to realize that it is WE who are practicing the same segregation that we accuse others of.

Besides…While Will and Jada Pinkett certainly have the right to boycott the show they NEED to be boycotting their son wearing darn dresses and flipping makeup (added: and as my friend Jenni said in the comment below…”you don’t see Will and Jada giving the money that they made back.”)

Anyway…I quit watching and caring about award shows years ago when I gave my life to Christ except maybe some sports awards shows but even then I don’t get all riled up if the player/players/team don’t win and even then I don’t idolize them like so many do these days (sadly, in the Body of Christ).

Lastly, I don’t mind us having a discussion about why rich actors don’t get this or that award but I just have a greater desire to see people focus on real problems like unemployment, poverty, fatherlessness, homelessness, crime, and most importantly people who don’t know Christ as their personal Savior.

Just my musings on this beautiful snowy day…be blessed!

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

