The Story Of What God Spoke Into My Heart On How To Deal With The LBGT ISSUE

Posted: February 4, 2016 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , , , , , ,

 

I posted the following as a comment to a comment on my post dealing with President Obama speaking at a Mosque with terrorist ties and that spouted anti-LBGT rhetoric. Only a few people know this complete story of how God taught me how to deal with this issue.

“Yessir my brother! (Name withdrawn).

I would say that I was MORE homophobic BEFORE I gave my life to Jesus because growing up in Texas we were raised that way. When I met my wife she had numerous gay friends and many of them became my friends.

When I gave my life to Christ many of them immediately stopped speaking to me for fear that I would treat them like the “Christians” that they knew did. However, they couldn’t be further from the truth because once I gave my life to Christ I was so blown away at how much grace and mercy that He showed me though I was evil, that I was determined to show the same grace to any and everyone…I have often failed at that but I’m growing in it day by day.

One day in youth camp we were having a leader’s meeting and I was struggling because I had a kid in my room who was gay and I didn’t feel that I was prepared to deal with the questions from him or the other boys in the room.

During the meeting we had a prayer session and the Holy Spirit answered my questions. I asked God: How do I, someone who grew up a homophobe minister to this kid? What if I turn him away fro Jesus?…and about twenty other questions because I truly felt that I needed to reach this kid but I didn’t know-how.

In that moment the Holy Spirit spoke into my spirit: “love him like I love you”. I then wondered what most Christians do: “what about what the Bible says”? And the Holy Spirit spoke into my heart: “simply show them Me through you, speak to their questions in love…never watering down my Word but not forcing it in them and love them as I love you even if they don’t accept me. Live your life in such a way that ALL men will seek me through you and you will provide them answers without even preaching a word to them because through you they will see Me”.

As the leader session ended I shared this with the group and tears flowed and we all praised God.

I learned that when questioned that I never water down Or try to conform God’s Word to suit the individual, to simply pray and ask for guidance via the Holy Spirit on ALL Issues (we tend to make some more important than others…they are ALL the same to God), and most importantly to love as Jesus loves me.

Again, I fail sometimes but I do my best as I grow yet I now am able to speak into the lives of kids who are dealing with simple issues who feel alone, afraid, and abandoned by the Church and I’m able to do so with love.

It’s funny how God uses people though, huh? A former homophobe showing the love of Jesus to teens who are in the LBGT community!”

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

