“Do you remember the day you were “Saved”?

Posted: October 26, 2016 in Uncategorized

https://www.facebook.com/claytonjenningsdotcom/videos/1152001421504329/ (In this video by Clayton Jennings he asks if we can remember the day we were saved like all of the other important dates in our lives.  As I watched the video I responded with a Facebook post that answered the question and it is as follows):
I don’t remember the date but I remember the day. You see I had been to church numerous times and got “saved” according to what I heard in churches all of my at that time 38 years of life.  
But THAT day was different…that day is unshakable from my mind.  
On THAT day I remember that I had been dropping my kids off for church for some time yet I was loath to go myself because of my pain and mistrust of God who I blamed for everything that was wrong in my life.  
“Why did you even bare me to my mother just so I could live as so many others do daily and that is to eek out a paltry existence on this corrupted earth?”
“Why did you make me grow up poor? Why did you allow me to be surrounded by violence so much so that one of my earliest memories was of my Aunt being killed?”
“Why God why?”
YET…I felt this pull…this groaning inside me that I couldn’t explain so I started to go to church with my family not knowing that for the first time as a husband/father that I WAS TRULY becoming the leader of my family that God had destined me to be.
I met this man named “Rusty” who was more like the Jesus that I heard of my whole life yet hardly ever saw in the ministers that preached one life yet lived another.  
He met me and hugged me as he does when greeting people after church one day and the embrace was much like the embrace of a father that I had never had. 
I kept coming every Sunday after that YET when the call to the altar was introduced I always stayed in my seat asking the question to myself “is this real?”…”I’ve been here before and nothing ever changes”. 
So I sat in my seat a man at the time whose family was falling apart around him and the worst feeling that any man could have was that there wasn’t a darn thing that I could do about it.
YET…for some reason i kept coming as if I was answering a longing that had finally gotten so strong and it only seemed to quiet down when I was at church…YET, I still didn’t go up to that altar.
What if this God rejects me as my father did? What if this God makes me feel like a fool and once again nothing changes in my life? What if I go up there and people laugh at me?  
What if….they (the IF’s) kept on coming.
BUT THE NEXT WEEK AT CHURCH was different.
On the verge of divorce, self medicating myself with weed and various drugs I KNEW something HAD TO CHANGE and I pondered “can I really trust this JESUS who I deemed didn’t really care about me at all?”
For whatever reason I didn’t smoke weed that day as I normally did just so I could sit through church without feeling so much pain and as Pastor Rusty was ending the sermon I knew that the altar call was next and as usual I wasn’t going to go…but this time was different.
For whatever reason I knew that if I didn’t go up there on this day that chances are I wouldn’t be back and I would lose everything,,
So even BEFORE Pastor Rusty called for altar call I lept up from my seat and ran down to the altar and I remember him saying “Well…I was just about to call for altar call but hadn’t quite yet but it seems someone is ready so why wait” (something to that effect).
I then felt a hand on my shoulder and and a man who Introduced himself to me as Tim NeSmith began to ask me softly in my ear…”what can I pray with you about brother!” And I told him that “I tried this stuff before but nothing ever changed but I want to be saved and get my family saved”. 
He softly prayed the sinner’s prayer with me and for the first time in my life I literally felt an explosion of happiness, peace, and joy all at the same time as I said YES to Jesus!
I didn’t understand why but for the first time in my life I felt that I was here for a purpose and for some strange reason I felt a love that I had never experienced before flood my heart and as my family got into the cat I proclaimed through tears that we would be going to church EVERY time it opened NOT just on Sunday and that is what happened.
If the doors opened we were there, if they needed volunteers we were there, If there was a need that needed to be filled WE WERE THERE!!!!
I couldn’t get enough of this Man Named Jesus because He was NOT like this generic God that that far too many churches preach so that they can still lead sinful lives without the conviction that comes from relationship with Christ and it was then that I realized that He was ALWAYS there with me beckoning me to Him and that it was I because of pain, pride, and the pressure to conform to THIS world that I rejected Him time and again.
For the one who is reading this who has been going to church most of your life yet felt as I do know that HE IS WITH YOU AND ALL THAT YOU HAVE TO DO IS FULLY SURRENDER to Him!!!
To that couple who is contemplating divorce that is reading this…your marriage CAN be fixed because Jesus fixed MINE so surrender your marriage and all of its problems to Him and watch Him turn it around!!
To that poor child (He just put this on my heart) that is reading this that is contemplating suicide right now (please listen to me)…surrender it ALL to Jesus and seek Him and ONLY Him so that He can help you deal with the pain that makes you want to end your life. You are worth sooooo much to Him and He desperately loves you and it IS that love that you’ve always searched for yet have never found and you don’t have to die to get it because YOU ARE WORTH it and HE LOVES YOU!!!!
He loves each of us and He smiles at the very hint of the mention of your name!!!
Be blessed!
Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

