How do we as Christians respond to “negative” people…even racists?

Posted: November 2, 2016 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , ,

A brother in Christ Jesus (Ty Jenkins) posted the following and as I read it God placed the comment that I wrote in response in my heart and as a reminder of how to deal with “negative”, unlikeable, and even racist people when I encounter them (it’s how “Christians” SHOULD act…hint…it’s NOT HOW the world deals with. Doesn’t mean that we don’t call out the behavior but we do so with grace and prayer):
Ty’s post: “Instead of assuming that God doesn’t want me around a negative person, or even a person that we despise in our flesh, how about asking God what are you trying to teach me through this person? Maybe an extension of grace and mercy that I was shown at the cross when I was unloveable, or unmerciful. We think as Christians our lives are suppose to be trial free ; folks that how we grow to maturity in our faith.”
My comment which is simply an addiction to his spirit-led post:  
 I’ve found that He seems to put people like that around me…yes, even racists so that I can pray and intercede on THEIR behalf because people like that are so unlikeable that no one is praying for them and SOMEONE has to so why not me if I claim obedience to Christ Jesus showing the same grace and mercy that He showed me a complete sinner on the Cross. 
They benefit from my prayers and I subsequently benefit as I crucify my fleshly desire to return their hate and return it with love that only Christ can provide and thus in that obedience I grow and grow exponentially in Christ Jesus so I am the real winner!!
Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

