From my Bible reading today:  I speak because Christ tells me to (Galatians‬ ‭2:17-21‬ ‭MSG)

Posted: November 12, 2016 in Articles, Religion
Tags: , ,

As I read the following scriptures God brought back to remembrance the numerous times that family and friends would instead of listening to what God had put on my heart through the things that I write or speak about would chide, deride, or make fun of me for simply doing my “job” that He assigned me to do.

They treated me this way because I simply was pointing out hypocrisy or exposing long held “religious” or community beliefs (from the black community that I came from) that clashes with the pure truth of not only God’s written Word but also that He spoke to me and challenged me to confront the people that I love so that they could hear what HE (God) was saying to them through me.  
I didn’t ask for or did i want this responsibility as I was happy simply serving the homeless, working with our youth, praying with people who were hurting, and all of the other “God-like” things that Christians do.
I have to admit that in the beginning I was a bit disobedient and wouldn’t even bring these things up until God impressed upon me that I was caring more about being “liked” instead of doing HIS WILL which I claimed to “love” doing.
When i realized my wrong I started doing what He was asking of me and freedom began to reign in my heart and since then I’ve done my best to speak what He tells me to speak without reservation or care of what the person that is hearing about it even thinks.
This way of living has also been a blessing because it also sharpens me to hear from God when He speaks to me through others when they do the same towards me….in other words “game recognizes game”…HOW AWESOME IS THAT? 
So as the following scriptures or read I pray that you keep in mind that this is what God put on my heart this morning to show me the significance of them as they pertain to MY life.
Yet I also challenge you to look at these Scriptures according to what YOU may be going through as you confront family, friends, brothers, and sisters with what God is putting on your heart to speak into their lives about things that are contrary to Christ so that you also may be blessed by being able to hear more succinctly what GOD is saying through them or others to teach or correct you…be blessed:
Galatians‬ ‭2:17-21‬ ‭MSG: 
“Have some of you noticed that we are not yet perfect? (No great surprise, right?) And are you ready to make the accusation that since people like me, who go through Christ in order to get things right with God, aren’t perfectly virtuous, Christ must therefore be an accessory to sin? The accusation is frivolous. If I was “trying to be good,” I would be rebuilding the same old barn that I tore down. I would be acting as a charlatan.
What actually took place is this: I tried keeping rules and working my head off to please God, and it didn’t work. So I quit being a “law man” so that I could be God’s man. Christ’s life showed me how, and enabled me to do it. I identified myself completely with him. Indeed, I have been crucified with Christ. My ego is no longer central. It is no longer important that I appear righteous before you or have your good opinion, and I am no longer driven to impress God. Christ lives in me. The life you see me living is not “mine,” but it is lived by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. I am not going to go back on that. Is it not clear to you that to go back to that old rule-keeping, peer-pleasing religion would be an abandonment of everything personal and free in my relationship with God? I refuse to do that, to repudiate God’s grace. If a living relationship with God could come by rule-keeping, then Christ died unnecessarily.”
Ron “Big Black” Garrett

‭‭‬‬

Leave a Reply

