“It is well with my soul”

Posted: December 6, 2016 in Uncategorized

Little did we know at the time of taking this picture that in just under another year my wife would be diagnosed with cancer.  
It wasn’t anything that we asked God for but He knew that we were able to handle it through Him and that His mighty Name would be glorified as we allowed Him to walk us through the sickness, the pain, the anger, the fear, the joy, and all of the other “human” emotions that come with any trial that one must endure.
As I sit here reflecting on it in my heart I sing the song “It is well with my soul” which has personally been a mantra and point of worship of mine since God healed my wife of that terrible disease.
The devil had his plans but as usual what he meant to harm us only ended up showing God’s glory through us to many who God used us to touch, pray for/with, counsel, teach, learn from, and rejoice with during and after the battle with it.
The song says “through it all, through it all my eyes are on You. Through it all, through it all it is well.”   
I can personally attest to the fact that our faith was stretched during this trial but without it how would we have known that it could stretch that far?  
How would I have not know that I could face the life-long fear of possibly losing someone who meant the world to me and yet STILL trust the God who gave her to me even if I had lost her?
How would I have known that not only would we be blessed during this event but that we would still have more than enough “overflow” from our blessings to richly bless others!
I thank God every day that He allowed my lady…His beautiful daughter to remain by my side and I’ve learned to not foolishly let another day go by without saying anything that I need to say to her or to try to do something to let her know how much she means to me.
Beyond God’s gift of eternal life and salvation Tracy Gowen Garrett IS the best gift that God has ever blessed me with and I’m so thankful to God for allowing me to be her “man” as she often calls me.
I love you babe and it is such an honor to call you my wife and I know that since you are married to me that you have had the complete honor of being able to call me “husband”…y’all didn’t think I was going to stay tooo serious did ya? Had to get one in or she would have thought I’d completely lost my flipping mind!
Love ya babe!

Comments
  1. Wayne Benson says:

    Precious, Ron. Thanks – well said. Yes, like me, you married up!

Leave a Reply

