“Freedom isn’t free”…So I’m Gonna Run My Mouth All I Want…I Earned It!

Posted: January 24, 2017 in Articles, Freedom, Liberty, Politics, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

If you know me well you know that with my sense of humor one of the things that I find funny is that few people fail to understand why veterans are so vocal when they stand up for their rights. 

The reason that it seems that many of us have ice water in our veins when it comes to expressing ourselves is that for however many years we served we were often denied many of the very rights that many “civilians” in their apathy take for granted.

No “free speech”, “pursuit of happiness”…as long as it doesn’t hinder the mission, the right to “redress your government with your grievances”…ONLY if the grievances come about if they violate their oath or the law and then ONLY by taking it up the chain-of-command….etc., and so on…you get the picture and if you don’t you’re exactly who (the apathetic person) that I’m talking about).

So you see…if it seems that a service brother or sister seems to fight you harder than a “normal” person on an issue know that the first thing is that we are already used to fighting ( for your tail to express the very right you wish to deny him/her) and because we once volunteered to give up those rights now that we have them back we take them very seriously because we know how precious they are (one only knows how precious something is when it’s lost and found again).

Lastly, WE WILL ALWAYS BE SEVICE MEN AND WOMEN and we are always just a call away NO MATTER our age and physical limitations to “pick up a weapon” to once again defend this God-blessed nation and it’s ever-increasingly hostile against us peoples (smh…the very ones that we fight FOR) and our way of life.

So sleep well, warm, and cozy without a care in the world under the very “blanket of freedom” that every military man and woman has crafted for you.

A blanket that was sown with the blood, sweat, tears, and yes even deaths of those who run into the face of danger as you run back into your comfortable house peeking out of the curtain terrified because WE dare to face death as we face those who desire to destroy our way of life and take away our freedoms.

I leave you with one of the greatest quotes from one of my favorite movies (A few good men) that will sum up what I’ve said here:

Col. Nathan R. Jessep: “You cant handle the truth! Son we live in a world that has walls, and those have to be guarded by men with guns. Whose gonna do it you, you lieutenant Weinberg? I have a greater responsibility than you can possibly fathom. You weep for Santiago, and you curse the Marines. You have that luxury, you have the luxury of not knowing what I know, that Santiago’s death while tragic, probably saved lives. And my existence while grotesque and incomprehensible, to you, saves lives. You don’t want the truth because deep down in places you talk about parties; you want me on that wall, you need me on that wall! We use words like honor, code, loyalty, We use these words as the backbone of a life spent defending something, you use them as a punch line. I have neither the time,or the inclination, to explain myself to a man, who rises and sleep under the blanket of the very freedom that I provide, and then questions the manner, in which I provide it. I’d rather you just say ‘thank you’ and go on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a weapon, and stand a post. Either way, I don’t give a damn, what you think you are entitled to!”
So I suggest you just say “thank you” and be on your way!

Ron “Big Black” Garrett

Leave a Reply

