What about OUR (black people’s) own racism?  Can’t we deal with that too?

Posted: March 4, 2017 in Articles, Freedom, Religion, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

As I viewed the video in the link it took me back to traumatic incidents of racism NOT directed towards me by white folk but by many black people in my life who hypocritically cry racism everytime something happens yet fail to see the “log in” their “own eye” as Jesus teaches us in Matthew 7:3:  “And why worry about a speck in your friend’s eye when you have a log in your own?”

During a “Save our sons” events sponsored by some great friends and brothers and sisters in Christ (the beautiful Melvin and Toya Poplar) which was designed to get people differing faiths, races, police, the media, and anyone else who cared to discuss how to stop the unnecessary deaths within our community via dialogue with the police but during the event we also discussed racism.

There was much helpful dialogue to be discussed at the event and it was very helpful to our local community as we discussed topics that people are afraid to discuss due to political correctness or due to fear of being “shamed” by their respective communities in trying to understand our differences and discuss the long held and often unspoken grievances that we often have against each other so that we all as creations of the same God can make progress towards solutions to race issues instead of bloviating nonsensically with no “fruit” to be shown for the seeds being planted.

One of the points that I made (that I later was informed by the participants in the meeting) that made most everyone of the group think about was that my VERY first experience with racism DID NOT come from “white people” BUT FROM within my own black community when people within my family would deride me as being “too black”, or that my hair was too “nappy”, or that i was “just another dumb, black nigger that wasn’t going to amount to nothing”, or that that they would “disown” me if I married a “white girl” and many other hateful things.
Now I would be remiss if I didn’t also note that MOST  of these same people went to church every Sunday and also  MADE me go to church and learn that God says we should “love” all people like Jesus does and “forgive” others when wronged but would get mad it me and even kick my tail for trying to live it.

These “Christians” never lived that life that I even as a “dumb bigger who wasn’t going to ever amount to nothing” could read the Bible and  understand how to live because when it came to forgiving white people for the past wrongs that some of their race did to our people they WOULD’NT forgive them and talked about ALL white people (and you Mexicans ain’t off the hook…they did and STILL talk about y’all horribly also) like a proverbial “dog” (and I apologize to dogs everywhere for bringing them in this) and even to this day many of these “church attendees” (who are bereft of the Spirit of God that I am in relationship with) have not changed and are still ruining the spirit of black folk with their “dumb nigger” and “yo hair is just nappy and no good” comments.

It was this hypocrisy among other things that let me know that i didn’t need to go to church because as far as I was concerned “Christians” were hypocrites so I quit going to church and didn’t trust Christians for years until i gave my life to Jesus INSTEAD of people and HE taught me how wrong these people who knew Him by Name only were.
I digress…The real problem here as it relates to what I and this beautiful young lady is saying here is one of the things that I have said for years and that is that the black community is ALSO responsible for my, her, and so many others feeling like this because of how we are told NOT by racists how “ugly” black is but even worse by the community that claims to love us.

We “yap” on and on about “racism” from other groups towards black people but hide the fact that in the black community we are made fun of if our hair is “too natural” (or “nappy” to keep it 💯), or if you are light-skinned you were called “high-yella” and depending on your location being “high-yella” could be helpful or a detriment in the black community.

AND…don’t you dare be very dark as this beautiful young lady is because they (we..I am Big Black ya know) endure some of the most horrific comments that goes past simple humor (which I have no problem with by the way).

Think I’m joking…i challenge all black women to get them chemicals out of your hair today and go “natural” and see what happens!

To this day I marvel at how beautiful the natural hair of a black person is in its varying thickness and textures (I also marvel at He beauty of He hair of ALL of f God’s children so don’t “trip” with me here, LOL).

YET most of what I hear from my community is people (mostly women) who as they try to “get back to their roots (pun intended) are harassed mercilessly by the very community that claims to be on their side in everything “black”.

I noticed this hypocrisy as a child and continue to witness it now as an almost half a century old black man and I smh (shake my head) that this nonsense is still going on.

If someone wants to perm or straighten their hair…fine…they should get no “guff” over it and if someone wants to go natural there should similarly be nothing said either.

Ron “Big Black” Garrett 

Leave a Reply

